Early Bird gets the Healthy Food!

My day started out in the dark again.  This time dark and a light rain.  

Look who else was none too happy about waking up early!

 

However, I tell you what!  Beating the traffic through RTP by one hour sure does make for smooth sailing.  When I was happily way passed Chapel Hill, I heard of a fender bender at Exit 306 that had all Johnston County incoming traffic at a stand still.  Boy o boy do I ever know how frustrating that is.  So happy to be well beyond that mess this time. 

It was funny being awake for two and a half hours with nothing but my one cup of coffee for company.  I stuck it out though.  When I arrived at Bennett, I got the shop open, checked emails and phone messages, got the printers humming and then settled into this nutritious breakfast! 

Overnight oats in a jar with a fresh banana kept me well satisfied all morning long.  I’ve been out of flax and chia seeds for quite some time.  I’ve got to stop by Whole Foods soon and restock.  The flax seed for sure!  I like the nutty flavor it gives your oats.  The chia seeds will be a special occasion addition.  They are very high in calories and my oats, yogurt, and banana are close to 500 calories as it is.  

Look….the sun came out!  I was so happy to see it!  Note the historic windows here at Bennett.  Print Centers are almost always in basements.  Not sure why….but 99% of the time, that’s the way it is.

 

For lunch today, I started with this beauty that I brought from home.

 

If you haven’t tried the Mayan Harvest Bake from Kashi, may I suggest that you check it out?  It has plantains, black beans, sweet potato, kale, Kashi 7 whole grain pilaf, amaranth (a highly nutritious herb), polenta, and spicy ancho (pepper) sauce.  This is my all time favorite Kashi meal!  So yummy!  

I paired the Mayan Bake with this lovely salad that I got from Earth Fare! 

Only 5 short minutes from Bennett.  I’ve never tried this store before but I was very impressed.  I made my salad just the way I usually do.  I started with the spinach and a little Romaine.  Then I added black beans, cherry tomatoes, red cabbage, red peppers, raisins, zucchini, blue cheese crumbles, and then drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  For the sides, I had a stuffed grape leaf, mashed sweet potatoes, and a curry mock chicken salad.  That my friends, was Out Of This World!  I called back and inquired about it and the chef told me it was made with Earth Fare’s soy chicken nuggets.  We have an Earth Fare at Brier Creek so I might just be making another trip.  I also splurged and got that fancy drink.  Pretty good.

Tonight’s dinner was Souffer’s 4 cheese lasagna, bread and Earth Balance, and chocolate sludge for dessert. 

Great day but tomorrow I’ve got to get some running in.  Tonight I officially registered for the Wrightsville Beach Marathon.  Unfortunately, the half was sold out so Ron can’t run.  We signed him up for the Inside Out Sports half in Cary on May 22nd.  That means, we have races in February, March, April, and May!  February 5th we are both doing the Krispy Kreme Challenge.  March 20th will be my marathon.  April 9th is Ron’s Maniac 5k in Asheboro.  May 22nd will be Ron’s half marathon.  So much fun to look forward to.

 Want to train for a 5 or 10k?  I’ll run it with you.

Leave a Reply

