The Organization of a Methodist

This morning I jumped out of bed and ran to the kitchen to make my TVP (textured vegetable protein) Chili so I could take it to a church function.  I must have searched 30 full minutes for my TVP before I vaguely remembered that Ron made some goulash the other night and he used it.  He probably put about six times the amount that you would need and used it all up.  I’m suggesting a new procedure in our home from here on out.  If you use the last of something, please write in on the shopping list that I will have on the fridge.

I decided to go ahead and make it anyway.  I had to take something and you really can’t taste the TVP anyway.  I made two pots of it so Ron and Lydia would have some for lunch too. 

 

I must have sprinkled the right amount of cayenne pepper because it was the perfect degree of hotness.  Not too mild and not blowing steam from your head either.  Just right.  I was so proud of the rave reviews I got from my friends at church. 

When I got to church, we had a light breakfast.  I had a half of a banana and a huge banana nut muffin.  I was way too embarrassed to take a picture of it.  I’ve got to muster up the courage and not worry about what people will think.  I would love to show you all the yummy items that everyone brought.  I’ll work on it.  I promise.  

After breakfast, we got right to work on learning about organizing.  Did you know it was John Wesley that first coined the phrase, “Cleanliness is next to Godliness?”  Pastor Leonard said that we Methodists should have a pretty good handle on organizing.  Funny huh?  

One of our church members is a professional organizer and she was leading us.  She gave us all copies of her book.  She is amazing!

Deborah, Wendy, and I worked in the Sacristy and we made it look so much better.  We got rid of a ton of stuff.  I really wish I had taken my camera.  You would have loved to see the before and after shots.  

Soon everyone was finishing up there areas and we all headed to the fellowship hall for the lunch.  I had some of my chili and a cookie and a lemon bar and a few pecans.

Then….Lydia and a neighbor friend, Brittany, and I went to the Kid’s Exchange in Raleigh.  It was basically a huge yard sale.  We got Mason a swing and a bathtub. 

Since we were out and about, we stopped by the mall.  I picked up a Keurig carousel for church.  I think they are going to like it.  We were all starving so we went to the Food Court.  I got a Falafel Wrap again and it was very good.  For a side this time I got hummus and pita chips.  The little shop was called Ali Baba Mediterranean Cuisine.

 After church tomorrow I’m going to try to do some laundry and run.

Leave a Reply

