Maniac!

Man…what a day!  So FUN!

 

We started pretty early and traveled to Asheboro for Ron to run the Rugged Maniac 5k.  It’s a 3.1 mile race that has you go over and under many different obstacles.  Ron was nervous at first but he did great.

 

 

 

It was cold and muddy and I had a great time as a spectator but I really wished I had signed up.  Ron said he thought I could have done it.  Maybe next time.

 

  

On our way back home, Pittsboro and the Carolina Brewery and Grill was calling Ron’s name.  He has worked in the Pittsboro area on and off for several years and he’s been wanting to go all this time.  Today was the day.

 

 

 

He started with a paddle sampler and liked the Super Saaz Imperial Pilsner the best.  The only one that I even remotely liked was the Sky Blue Golden Ale.

 

 

 

I was more interested in DINNER!  We started with the Brewey Nachos.  They were served with vegetarian black bean dip that was to die for.  Hit.the.spot.

 

 

 

For our entrees’, Ron had a Chicken Fajita salad and I had the Quesadillas. 

 

 

 

They were stuffed with onions, mushrooms, and spinach.  I topped them with the guacamole, sour cream and salsa.  DEVINE.

 

Even though Ron was in no way interested in dessert, I just had to try their Tres Leches Cake.  I had never heard of it before until my niece’s daughter made one this week and posted it on Facebook.

 

 

 

The owner and creator of the brewery’s version explained to me that tres leches meant three milks.  She made their’s mostly like the traditional Tres Leches cakes but she added a layer of Boston Cream pudding and added Grand Marnier liqueur. 

  

Needless to say, I barely made a dent in this huge slice.  I brought the rest home to Lydia.

 

Ron brought a growler home filled with their award winning Flagship India Pale Ale. 

 

 

 

We had a bad storm roll by but it has quieted down now and thankfully Lucky has settled down for the night.  She is so nervous when we have storms.

 

 

 

Goodnight Friends!

Leave a Reply

