Daydream to Reality

Today was an absolutely wonderful day.  I’m not sure why.  It was just a normal Thursday but I just loved it!  

I had to scan two huge manuals at work today and the scanner that I was using worked perfectly.  When you have thousands of pages to scan and your scanner doesn’t even jam once, you know you’ve got luck on your side.

After work, I made cornbread again and it was almost as good as my mom’s.  Here’s a pic of the self rising corn meal mix that I swear is the best ever.  And that’s my iron skillet that Mother gave me.  (This picture is of the cornbread just going in the oven.  When it comes out it’s golden brown.)

 

I also made up a pot of my famous TVP chili.  Bob’s Red Mill TVP is the best.  I have used Morningstar Meal Starters (frozen) in the past but regular unprocessed TVP is so much better.  My recipe calls for one packet of Truvia and my sister, Rosa, says that is the secret ingredient.  Funny thing….ever since she told me that, I’ve been so afraid to leave it out. 

 

I make this chili about once a week.  Ron, Lydia and I all love it.  Andie’s not a big fan of chili at all so we’ll have to tone it down some when she moves home.  Maybe every other week then. 

To all my neighbors…  I promise to learn to cook something else soon so I don’t have to bring this to all our cookouts this summer.

While the chili was simmering, I set out for a 5 mile run.  I was feeling so good, I decided to run a full 10k in honor of my 10k blanket that I’m crocheting for Mason.

I ran it in one hour and 8 minutes and loved every minute of it.  Well…every minute except one that is.

 

I ran tonight without my ipod and was really zoning out.  I ran by the Huskies with no problem.  Remember…they stay in their yards.  I ran by a Chow and he has an invisible fence too so no worries there.  I ran by the two retired police German Shepherds.  They stay put as well and have never even once barked at me.  Then I ran by a pit bull that is chained out by his tree in his front yard every now and then.  He looks so ferocious.  I was daydreaming about what I would do if he ever got off his chain and came after me.  I was planning on curling up in the fetal position and covering my face.  I thought I might kick him in the ***** and imagined that he would run off yelping.  Just about this time while I was still in my daydream, a different REAL pit bull came running at me out of nowhere!  Totally scared the living daylights out of me!  Thanks be to God, once he got right up on me, he just sorta smiled and started wagging his butt.  Right then and there I decided that I’m running with mace from now on.  (I gave my pink mace to Andie last year to keep with her at college but I’m getting some more ASAP!)

I’ll close tonight with a list of some of my favorite quotes.  I have a wee bit of an obsession. 

Enjoy!

 

Whether you think that you can, or you can’t, you are usually right.

Henry Ford

 

27Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in one spirit, contending as one man for the faith of the gospel

Philippians 1

 

12Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity

23Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men,  Colossians 3

 

I long to accomplish a great and noble task, but it is my chief duty to accomplish small tasks as if they were great and noble.
Helen Keller

Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much.
Helen Keller

As the eagle was killed by the arrow winged with his own feather, so the hand of the world is wounded by its own skill.
Helen Keller

I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something that I can do.
Helen Keller

Once I knew only darkness and stillness… my life was without past or future… but a little word from the fingers of another fell into my hand that clutched at emptiness, and my heart leaped to the rapture of living.
Helen Keller

Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.
Helen Keller

If you obey all of the rules, you miss all of the fun.
Katharine Hepburn

I have many regrets, and I’m sure everyone does. The stupid things you do, you regret… if you have any sense, and if you don’t regret them, maybe you’re stupid.
Katharine Hepburn

Give him enough rope and he will hang himself.
Charlotte Bronte

I’m just going to write because I cannot help it.
Charlotte Bronte

Absence makes the heart grow fonder.
Eleanor Roosevelt

A little simplification would be the first step toward rational living, I think.

Eleanor Roosevelt

 

And in the end it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.
Abraham Lincoln

 

Common looking people are the best in the world: that is the reason the Lord makes so many of them.
Abraham Lincoln

 

I walk slowly, but I never walk backward.
Abraham Lincoln

 

Most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.
Abraham Lincoln

 

Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle.
Abraham Lincoln

 

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.

 

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.

 

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:28

 

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.

1 Peter 5:7

  ·         “Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.” – Buddha 

“Don’t pray when it rains if you don’t pray when the sun shines.” ~ Satchel Paige

Leave a Reply

