Kale Chips and Peanut Butter Parsnips

Well, here we go.  The two recipes I promised.

Here are my Kale chips.  I first learned of Kale chips from Katheats.com  I’ve also seen them on many other blogs and internet sites.  They are very healthy!

Here are the two sites I used as my inspiration:

http://www.katheats.com/favorite-foods/kale-chips

http://ohsheglows.com/2011/05/21/sour-cream-and-onion-kale-chips/

For mine, I started with 1.5 cups of raw cashews.  Did you know two handfuls of cashews have the same mood lifting power as Prozac?  Cool huh?

I soaked the cashews in water for 3 hours and then I blended them up with some lemon juice, water, and some apple cider vinegar.  Next I sliced a small red onion.  Massage the “dressing” and the onion onto the Kale and then bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.  You are supposed to use a dehydrator but I don’t have one yet.

My Kale chips did not get very crisp.  Lydia described them as warm salad.  Any you know what!?  That gave me a great idea.  Next time I might just serve them as a vegetable side.

They tasted great to me!

Here are my parsnip fries in the making:

All you do is peel them and cut them in small strips.  Toss them in the EVOO, salt and PB.  Bake at 400 degress for 30 minutes.  I’ve made them before but this is the first time I smothered them in peanut butter.  To be honest, I didn’t much like them with the peanut butter.  So…I added some cinnamon and one packet of Truvia.  Then we were in business.  Yummo!

You can find the recipe for the parsnip fries at Ohsheglows. com.  This is one of my favorite Vegan blogs.  http://ohsheglows.com/2010/04/16/these-fries-will-change-your-life/

Hope you try some kale and parsnips this week!

Goodnight Friends!

Leave a Reply

