The Total Life

My husband Ron has had The Total Gym for a very long time.  I think it might be going on 20 years now.  He uses it all the time.  It’s not the classic piece of home gym equipment that ended up being a place to hang clothes.  Ron’s Total Gym is very well worn.  It even has duck tape in places.

You can catch Ron watching the Total Gym infomercial just about every weekend.  (At times, I think he believes he’s Chuck Norris himself.)  Over the years, the TG has kept Ron very strong!  He swears by it and can move from exerice to exercise on that machine with the ease and gracefulness of a dancer.

Tonight, for some unknown reason, I decided to give it a try.  I’ve been trying to get back in shape and all sorts of ailments have been attacking me.  Foot pain, Shin splints, you name it.  It seems like I’ve been hit with it.

So…the TG and I set out for an adventure.

Ron helped me by showing me all the safety features and led me through what he called a Beginner’s Workout.  On my first exercise, he told me to do a set of 25.  “3 sets,” I asked?  He just smiled and said to do just one for now.  The first 10 or so were so easy I just knew I could have done so many more.  Then it hit me.  It got hard.  Real hard.

He took me through many different exercises and sometimes just told me to do as many reps as I could until failure.  He put the bar on one of the lowest settings.  I know I am so going to feel this in the morning!

It is my hope to continue on with the TG at least every other day.  The workout is only about 30 minutes and I bet it will help me get over some of these injuries.

On the menu tonight was my famous TVP chili and cornbread.

I was a little heavy handed on the cayanne pepper but that was just fine with Ron and me.

Here’s hoping tomorrow will be glorious!

After church, Lydia and I are going shopping and them I’m heading out for a run.

Goodnight Friends!

Leave a Reply

