Reflections on the Juice Fast

Well, I made it.  The whole 6 days and not one bite of anything.  Juice only!

Days 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6 were so easy.  I wasn’t hungry at all and I felt great.  Day 2 started out ok but by the late afternoon, I had a horrible headache and felt sick to my stomach.  When I got home from work, I was totally
useless.  All I could do was sit in the Lazyboy and ended up heading to bed very early.

I do have to admit that I did cheat a little.  I drank one small cup of coffee each day except Day 2.  On the juice fast, you’re not supposed to drink anything with caffeine but I had to drive long distances for work and I just get so sleepy.  I’m
guessing that Day 2 might not have been so horrible if I had the coffee.

On the morning of Day 3, I hit a little snafu.  I took my vitamins.  I take a multi vitamin and 2 calcium tablets each day.  Without giving too much information, let’s just say they didn’t agree with me at all.  Ron later showed me on the website,

www.fatsickandnearlydead.com that it says to not take vitamins.  I guess your body can’t handle it with nothing in your stomach but the juice.

By Day 5, I was sick to death of the Mean Green Juice.  So, I made a tomato, celery, and onion juice and that’s what I lived on for the last two days.  I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce and it made the juice just like a V8.

The other things that I didn’t like about the program were cleaning the juicer each time and wasting all that good fiber in the vegetables.  I was making that beet, apple, ginger, and carrot juice in the mornings (Ruby Red Princess) and you have to be very careful with the beet juice.  It will stain like crazy.

I always put a plastic bag in the back of the juicer to ease in cleanup but there are still many parts you have to hand-wash.  The bag of scraps would weigh a ton and it just broke my heart to be throwing away all that good fiber.

I lost 9 pounds in the 6 days.

All in all, I would say that the juice fast would be a very good thing to kick start a weight loss journey.  I won’t do it again.  I will probably juice again but I promise you, it will not be for a long while.

Say goodbye to the Jack LaLanne Juicer.  He’s headed to the top of the refrigerator and might just go out to the shed very soon.

Today’s menu was all that I dreamed it would be.  I began with cooked banana oats in a jar and my normal cup of coffee.  I’m leaving cream out now and only adding one packet of Truvia.

Lunch was that detox salad that I found on  www.ohsheglows.com.  I chopped up some broccoli and cauliflower in the food process very, very fine.  Then added some shredded carrots, parsley, salt, pepper, raisins, sunflower seeds and a drizzle of pure maple syrup.

I also had a boiled egg.

On the way home from work I munched on a very sweet apple.

Dinner was divine.

I made grilled tofu and caramelized onions.

I also made kale chips.  (I had a lot of kale left over that I didn’t juice.)  I love kale so much as long as it’s not in juice form.

I spread some Earth Balance on sourdough bread and grilled it.  Next came the tofu, onions, and then I topped the sandwich with BBQ sauce.

Friends, this dinner was the best dinner in the world.  Better than any fast food could ever think of being.

I even had enough leftovers that I was able to assemble an awesome lunch for tomorrow.

My friend, Terry, has invited me to go on a short jog with her tomorrow and I’m going to give it a try.  My foot is still hurting but since I don’t think resting is doing much good, why not run?  Might see if I can go to get some orthotics for my shoes soon.

Happy Eating Friends!

Leave a Reply

