The Great Pumpkin

It’s that time of year again folks.  It’s Pumpkin Time!  I went to Trader Joes and stocked up on pumpkin pancake mix, pumpkin muffin mix, pumpkin, and even some pumpkin granola.

Do you all remember the Super Foods book from 2004?  Pumpkin is one of the “14 foods that will change your life.”  Pumpkin lowers the risk of various cancers.  The book recommends that you eat ½ cup of pumpkin on most days.  Some other vegetables that have similar disease fighting properties to that of pumpkin are carrots, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, and orange bell peppers.   Fun fact:  Pumpkin is actually a fruit and not a vegetable.

Whenever I’m at Trader Joe’s, I always try to pick up something for Lydia to surprise her with in her lunch box.

Seaweed!  Bet they’ll have a lot of fun with this around the lunch table.

I also got Ron his favorite! Dark Chocolate.  He’s crazy about dark chocolate.  I wish I liked it.  Dark chocolate is supposed to be healthy.  I’m crazy for milk chocolate.  (not healthy)  I might ask him for a square of this bar and since it has caramel, which is my favorite, I might just enjoy it.

Look what else I got! Medjool dates.  Have you tried them with a pecan in the middle yet?  Just like a mini pecan pie in your mouth.  Oh.so.good!  (Thanks Marianna for telling me about these.)

On the running front, I ran 3.43 miles with my friend Tery.  We took it easy since it was my first run in over a week and a half and since she had already done Boot Camp today.  It was great but I’m already feeling it in my heel.

I’m ignoring it.

Goodnight Friends!

Leave a Reply

