Company Mill Trail

Today was an absolutely gorgeous day here in the heart of Carolina.  After church, I had a lot to do around the house but all I really wanted to do was get outside and enjoy the beautiful weather.

I thought about the State Fair and would have loved it but I knew Ron and Lydia didn’t want to do that.  I suggested Clemmons State Forest in Clayton but Ron wasn’t feeling it.  A few minutes later,  Ron came back
over to me and he said if a hike is what I was looking for then we should go to Umstead.  We invited Lydia but she wanted to just chill after a hard week at band.

I packed a few items for a picnic and Ron filled up the water jug and we were off.

Here are few pictures of The Company Mill Trail at Umstead State Park in Raleigh.  We hiked for right at 3 hours and covered 5.8 miles.  The trail is marked “moderately difficult” and I think they hit it right on.  There were plenty of easy straightaways, but there were a lot of hills and rocks and roots to navigate through as well.

At the end of the hike we enjoyed some sandwiches, pumpkin muffins, and some fruit.  I had the kiwi and Ron went for the green apple.  Did you know you don’t have to peel your kiwis?  You can eat them skin and all.

While we were out, we ended the night with a short stop at Trader Joes.  This apple cider that they have is out of this world.  They only had a few bottles left and the check-out guy said that they had gotten 44 cases in
just last night.  He mentioned that I might want to get another bottle while they were in stock.  (What a great salesman!)

Very, very lovely day.

Now I have to figure out how I’m going to get laundry done this week sometime!

Goodnight Friends!

Leave a Reply

