What GOD wants for Christmas

Wow!  What a Spectacular Sunday I’ve had.  Hope you had a great one too!

The best news of the day was I got all the Christmas decorations up and all the boxes put back  in the shed.

Thank you so much to Lydia and neighbor, Brittany, for helping!

And…Lydia and Brittany did a tree for Lydia’s room too.  Isn’t it cute?

Woohoo!  Now I just get to sit back and enjoy it until New Year’s Day.  That’s the Cupit family tradition.  Everything out the weekend after Thanksgiving and then packed back up on New Year’s Day.  Love it!

In other good news, I ran another 33 minute 3 miler.  Tonight’s wasn’t as hard as it has been lately.  And, when I got back in, I even did an exercise video.  I looked for Jillian Michaels’, 30 Day Shred but I think I remember that Andie has it down in Wilmington.  So, Slim in Six it was.  The Start It Up workout is only 24 minutes long.  Being a long distance runner, I’ve gotten into the mentality that I can take anything for that short of an amount of time.  It was hard but doable.  I love that it has the countdown time clock on the side of the screen.  I peeked ahead and the next workout is the Ramp It Up workout and it is 47 minutes long.  That’s gonna be a little tougher.  There’s even a Burn It Up workout but I didn’t look ahead on that one so I have no idea what it’s going to be like.  My goal is to keep with it all through the holidays.

Here’s another of my new Bondi Bands.  Gotta love this one for all us slow runners out there.

Next on the good news front was Ron’s declaration to make every one of Mama Pea’s recipeas in the Peas and Thank You cookbook.   http://peasandthankyou.com/     Hey, I’m all for it.  I’ll gladly clean the bathroom, vacuum, and do laundry while he cooks.

Here’s tonight’s entrée:  Pea Daddy’s Jambalaya

It was out of this world delicious!

For dessert, I whipped up another pumpkin pie monster.

My friends, that’s a 140 calorie jar of heaven you’re looking at.  If you haven’t tried it yet, please just do it.  All you do is take 1 cup of almond milk, ½ can of pumpkin, a couple of handfuls of ice, a sprinkle of ginger, a sprinkle of nutmeg, and a couple of sprinkles of cinnamon and then blend it up.  So indulgent.  So healthy.  So delicious.   (origianl inspiration for this monster here  http://ohsheglows.com/2010/09/27/pumpkin-pie-monster-and-over-baked-apples/)

Now to end with the best news of the day.

I attended my church, Mt. Zion United Methodist http://mountzion-umc.org/  , today and our pastor kicked off the “What GOD wants for Chirstmas” sermon series.  You see, GOD, doesn’t “need” anything and you might think that puts HIM in the impossible to get for gift category.  Not so.  He very clearly tells us what he wants.

“Go into all the world and preach the Good News to everyone.  Anyone who believe and is baptized will be saved.  But anyone who refuses to believe will be condemned.”  Mark 16 15-16 (NLT)

Our pastor pointed out that not all of us can become missionaries in far away lands.  However, we all can pray for the gospel to go out.  We can give support to the ministries that share the good news. And we can carry the message of salvation with us wherever we go.

Our church challenged us to re-think Christmas with alternative giving opportunities.  You can choose from many different organizations.  Here are a few that you might consider:

Samaritan’s Purse  http://www.samaritanspurse.org/

Gospel for Asia  http://www.gfa.org/

World Vision  http://www.worldvision.org/

and

ZOE Ministry   http://www.zoeministry.org/

Since Ron and I have been working on the Dave Ramsey program, we each have what we call our “blow money.”  We each have our envelopes of money that is all our own after we have set aside our giving and all our money that is going to work our debt snowball.  We can use our “blow money” any way we want and we don’t have to feel guilty about whatever we choose.  The only problem for me is that I do feel guilty.  I can’t believe all this “blow money” that I have been, well, blowing!

We have two more paychecks before Christmas and I have decided that I am going to use a portion of my “blow money” to buy a goat ($60) and 6 chickens ($10 ea) for ZOE ministry.  I am so excited I can hardly stand it.

What are you getting for JESUS this year?

Goodnight friends!

Leave a Reply

