“What GOD wants for Christmas part II”

Many of you know how last week my pastor preached on what GOD wanted for Christmas and how I decided to give some of my “blow money” to purchase a goat.  Well today was part II in the sermon series and we learned that GOD wants us to help the hurting.  We learned that it’s simply not good enough to just feed the poor or clothe the needy.  We need to support the ministries that help the root cause of the situation.  Our pastor didn’t mention it but I immediately thought of the old saying about giving a man a fish feeds him for today but teaching him to fish feeds him for a lifetime.  We still need to give the “fish”, we just have to help in other ways as well.  I’m no theology student but this is what I took away from today’s lesson.

Today I have also been thinking about a story that I heard long ago in the movie, Charlie Wilson’s War. 

Gust Avrakotos: There’s a little boy and on his 14th birthday he gets a horse… and everybody in the village says, “how wonderful. The boy got a horse” And the Zen master says, “we’ll see.” Two years later, the boy falls off the horse, breaks his leg, and everyone in the village says, “How terrible.” And the Zen master says, “We’ll see.” Then, a war breaks out and all the young men have to go off and fight… except the boy can’t cause his legs all messed up. and everybody in the village says, “How wonderful.” Charlie Wilson: Now the Zen master says, “We’ll see.”

What if the good that I am trying to do causes a snowball of events and the good ends up being bad to someone?

Here’s an example:  Lydia had a fender bender today.  It was her second one in just a couple of weeks.  Everyone was fine and there was only minor damage to both cars.  Thank the LORD!  She has been complaining about the XL-7 that she drives and says that it is too big for her.  Andie drives a compact car and Ron has been begging her to switch with Lydia so that Mason will be safer.  I also think that the XL-7 will be a better fit for Andie and Mason.  I’m thinking that the Aerio will be a better car for Lydia.  We mentioned it to the girls again today and Andie agreed to give it a trial run.  She went back to Wilmington tonight in the XL-7 and she took a full size high chair that we had been keeping at our home for Mason.  With her large running stroller that she always keeps in her car, she would have never been able to fit that in the little Aerio.

But….what if something happens?  What if Andie is in a wreck becaue of the larger XL-7?  What if Lydia is in a wreck and it ends up being worse because of the small Aerio?

That’s just how my silly brain works.

I wrestled with it all day.

What I have decided is that all I can do is pray and pray often and long.  I must trust whatever GOD leads me to do.  And….I must not worry.  I can’t live my life with “what ifs.”

I’m going to try and run like crazy this week and hopefully shake this feeling of my head spinning.  I’m also going to try to journal my food and really stay accountable to the total calories.

Wishing everyone a peaceful week.  (Just like this vintage pic of Fred.)

Goodnight Friends!

Leave a Reply

