Audio Book on a Mountain Road

I’ve wanted to write this review for some time now but the past few weeks of the crazy Christmas schedule hasn’t allowed it. I’m so glad that I have a minute now so that I can jot my thoughts down on this wonderful book.

I rented it on audio from Cracker Barrel Restaurant. They have an awesome program where you can conveniently pick up a book at one location and then return it at the Cracker Barrel of your choice. What you do is pay $35.00 and then when you return it, you get $32.00 back. At 3 bucks, that’s a pretty good deal! Sure you can get some free audio books from the library but I’m finding that I am willing to pay (some) for convenience in my busy, busy, life.

I traveled alone to Virginia to see my mother. I knew this six hour trip (12 hours round trip) would be a perfect time to soak up a book. When I was choosing what to listen to, Tom Brokaw’s picture caught my eye. This is a non-fiction book and I would never in a million years have been able to read it. I’m a fiction girl all the way. However, on audio, I knew it was doable.

Although almost every single bit of television I watch now is on CBS, as a child, I was a NBC girl. We lived in Virginia part of the year and then in Florida. In Florida we had our pick of any channel, but in Virginia, we only got one very snowy station. NBC! My mother watched two shows, Days of our Lives and the NBC Nightly News with Tom Brokaw.

Tom was my news man and I loved him. I never realized that like Barbara Walters, Tom has a slight slur to his speech too. With Tom reading his book, I felt like I was a kid again.

Tom recounts many of the news stories of his career and although I lived through all of them, I really need to study up on some of the events of the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s. Where was I? I’ve never been a current events type but I wish I could be.

There are many current stories in the book as well. It is timeless! Tom recounts his life with his wife and three daughters. He talks a lot about his granddaughters and tells many very sweet stories. I identified with many of them. I was laughing and crying all along the mountain roads on my trip.

The last story he tells is about a time on his Montana ranch when he saw a herd of elk crossing a river that was at flood stage due to the snow runoff. One of the baby elks couldn’t make it across and failed again and again. The elk’s mother looked on from the other side of the river along with the entire herd that was waiting. Waiting mind you. Waiting for that one little baby. Then the most incredible thing happened. The mother elk looked straight at Tom and shook her magnificent head. Then she swam back across to her baby, lead him up river to an easier place to cross, and then they swam across together.

I’ve only seen an elk one time in my life. It was on my one and only visit to Yellowstone in the year 2000. Here’s a picture of Andie and Lydia posing in front with the elk in the distance behind them.

We can make it in this world and make it across many of its dangerous rivers. We can make it if we help each other.

Leave a Reply

