What GOD wants for Christmas parts 3, 4, and 5

I’m sorry that I left everyone hanging on the current sermon series at our church.  I enjoyed this series so much and I just have to finish sharing it.  You already know that GOD wants us to spread the message of Jesus and support the ministries that do.  You already know how I saved some of my “blow money” and got a goat for ZOE Ministries.  (I wasn’t able to get the chickens yet but I’m going to try to do that too sometime in January or February.)  You already know that Jesus wants us to heal human hurts.  I continue to struggle with my thoughts on this one and how I can go about it but I am praying daily. 

Here are the last three things that our pastor says will make awesome Christmas presents for Jesus:

Honor GOD in our hearts and homes.

Develop ourselves to our full potential and be the best we can be for Jesus.

Give GOD our love.   

The honoring GOD in our hearts and homes sermon was the Sunday that I was out of town at my mother’s but I did listen to the sermon on audio. I borrowed a cd of the service and I am so glad I did.  It was a good one!  I heard that Pastor Leonard put on an alien Halloween mask.  His point was to get you to thinking about what an alien would think Christmas was all about if one landed and walked in your life with you for a few days this Christmas season.  What would the alien see in your home?  What would you be doing?  I took inventory in my living room and I had plenty of Santa’s and snowmen but not a lot of Baby Jesus.  That’s what I want for Christmas next year.  A nativity set for our yard and one for the house.  I like those white plywood ones for the yard.  I can already picture it all lit up with a spot light on it.

What would the alien see you doing?  Are you rushing around crazy from mall to mall or are you spending some quite time with family and friends?  What music are you listening to?  What shows are you watching?  Are we truly honoring GOD in our hearts and homes? 

The develop ourselves to our full potential to be the best we can be for Jesus sermon was a little harder for me.  There were a lot of good examples that I identified with, especially the physical training ones.

 

Do not waste time arguing over godless ideas and old wives’ tales.

Instead, train yourself to be godly.  “Physical training is good, but

training for godliness is much better, promising benefits in this

life and in the life to come.”

1 Timothy 4:7-8 (NLT)

Christmas morning’s message was that GOD really only wants our love.  HE has that gift from me every day!

Leave a Reply

