Why Race?

What a glorious morning for a 5k!  This morning I went to Raleigh and ran the Run for Young 5k held at Christ Church on Edenton Street.

“The Run for Young honors the memory of Sadiki Young (a Christ Church member and acolyte) and reminds  Wake County teens how important it is to make good decisions whenever automobiles are involved.  Proceeds from the race will raise awareness for safe driving methods for teens at participating high schools and will support the Christ Church Youth Ministry Endowment.” 

What a great cause! 

Originally Andie, Lydia, and I were supposed to be doing a 5k in Wilmington today but everyone’s plans ended up changing.  Andie didn’t go back to Wilmington yet and Lydia had a band event.  Our babysitter, aka Grandpa, had to work.  So…. I just went ahead and ran the Run for Young by myself.

It was a beautiful morning and pretty warm for January 7th.  I got there and got registered with 20 minutes to spare.  Plenty of time for some stretching and runner watching.  I’m finding that I am recognizing many of the runners now.  I guess we all like to do races!  Many people had on City of Oaks Marathon, Old Reliable Run, and Jingle Bell Run shirts.

To tell the truth, I was a little lonely at the start and questioned why I was out there.  But when we started running, I remembered.  I love races!

I love coming in the finish line and getting a bottle of water handed to you.

I love eating cold orange slices.

I love bagels and cream cheese.

Today, Jimmy John’s was there and I got an avocado and cheese mini sandwich.

Yummo!

They also had some good smoothies from Planet Smoothie.

My time was the best yet for a timed 5k.  33:29.  That’s a 10:73 pace.  I’ll take it!  Sometimes it is so hard for me to believe that only 10 months ago I ran 26.2 miles with an average pace of 10:45.  Inconceivable!   Feels like a dream sometimes.

Oh well.  Onwards and Upwards.

Tomorrow at church, we are having our winter small group rally day.  I will be leading a “Run for God” group beginning on February 6th.  We will meet once a week for 12 weeks and end by running a 5k together.  Mt. Zion’s small groups are open to the public so even if you don’t attend Mt .Zion you can sign up.  We’d love to have you.  Contact me if you’d like to run and strengthen your walk with Jesus at the same time.  Check out Run for God.  I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

