I am blown away!

Last Thursday and Friday I worked in Wilmington with an awesome group of people.  At lunch I was sitting in the breakroom eating my meal and two of my friends came in with their’s.  Mike had an wonderful looking spinach salad from the cafeteria and Dustin had an equally great looking salad even though his had mostly iceburg lettuce and no dark greens.  I teased Dustin and told him that a salad was great but that he needed to darken it up a bit.  He reached over and got one of Mike’s spinach leaves and gave it a try and said it was like eating dandelion leaves.

Well, whenever you talk to me about spinach, the conversation quickly rolls around to a spinach smoothie.  I told them both about how I make smoothies all the time and throw a couple of handfuls of spinach in for good health.

Here are pictures of some of my green smoothies:

Then it wasn’t long before I began singing the praises of my pumpkin smoothies:

What blew me away was when I got in on Friday morning, look what Dustin and Mike whirled up!

 They had taken the time to go out and get the almond milk, the canned pumpkin, the cinnamon, the nutmeg, the blender, and the ice.  All we were missing was the frozen banana for some sweetness.

They both tried one and I can’t say that the loved them as much as me but I think they were open to the idea of all the healthy benefits.  Remember….pumpkin is a cancer preventer!

I talk health, happiness, and the love of Jesus everywhere I go but this is the very first time something like this has happened!  So impressed by their generosity and sense of adventure.

The other thing that has blown me away was the super turn out to our Run for God small group that started last night.  I was expecting maybe 15 people but we ended up with 26!  And 6 more that are interested but were unable to attend the first meeting.

I am so happy that God is allowing me to use my passion for running to His glory!

During my testimony time at our meeting, I was telling about how deep in the summer before my first marathon I had an epiphany.  Water was not merely something that I had to drink 8 glasses of for weight loss.  Water was hydration!  Food was not just something that I enjoyed but it was FUEL and I had to choose wisely so I could have optimal performance on my long runs.  Good hydration and good fuel would help me to prevent injury.

The epiphany continued when I realized that reading the Bible and spending time in prayer were not something that I had to do to be a good Christian.  These things were what I needed to help me have a better “run” with Jesus.  They would prevent the enemy from coming after me.  Now I’m not saying that everyone that has a strong relationship with Jesus would live a trouble-free life.  We’ll just be able to have peace and handle the situations better.

We’ll anyway, to make a long story short, today a new friend called me and told me that those words inspired her.    She told me that she Googled food in the Bible and this verse came up:

1 Corinthians 10:31

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

I was tearing up as she spoke to me.

I praise God for my good health and am so happy that he is using me to His glory.

I am blown away!

Goodnight Friends

One thought on “I am blown away!

Leave a Reply

