Spinach > Arugula

After church today, Lydia and I dined on salads.  Mine was the last of the spinach / arugula mix and hers was all spinach.  We had a variety of toppings including, boiled eggs, cheese, walnuts, raisins, celery, and carrots.

spinach salad

One of my favorite food bloggers, Kath, reported that she had learned to make boiled eggs from someone who had learned from Julia Child herself.  I used that method today and these eggs were the best ever and oh so easy.  All you do is put the eggs in a pot and cover with cool water.  Bring just to a boil and then take off heat and let them sit for 13 minutes.  Next put them in a bowl of ice water to immediately stop the cooking process and help the shell to peel easier.  These eggs did peel extremely well and cooked to perfection.

I enjoyed my salad but I confessed to Lydia that I don’t really like arugula anymore.  I’m not sure if it was that awful smoothie the other night or not but I’m sticking to spinach and butter lettuce from now on.

Today’s sermon was on the 8th commandment.  Do you know it?  Click here for the complete sermon notes.  They might still have last week’s sermon up so check back often.  My favorite part was what our pastor ended with today.  He read the lyrics from Amy Grant’s,  I Have Decided.   I remembered it right away and have always loved it.  Listen to the words. They are truly powerful.

I’ve got a ton of laundry, housework, and grocery shopping ahead of me today.  I so wish I could be diligent enough to learn to get all my stuff done on M-Sat.  That way I could really keep commandment number 4.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

