Falafels!

After reading the awesome, Eat and Run, by Scott Jurek, I have been toying with the idea of going vegan.   Scott Jurek is an ultra marathoner and this book is his autobiography.  He has been vegan since 1999.  So inspiring!

eat and run

Eat and Run has a recipe at the end of every chapter and they all looked wonderful.  The only problem was that my copy was from the library and I had to return it already.  I want to get my very own copy soon so I can try all Scott’s recipes!

Even though I didn’t have the book, I picked out five vegan recipes from the internet for this week and I’ll be sharing them with you each evening.

I found this wonderful Falafel Sandwich with Tomato-Cucumber Salad recipe via No Meat Athlete.  I fell in love with falafels when I first heard about them a few years ago.  Tonight’s version was light and delicious.  We didn’t deep fry the falafels like they do in so many restaurants.

All you do is food process up all the ingredients and then form 12 little patties.  Next you fry them in EVOO and then warm them in the oven.

104_5754

The tomato and cucumber salad was perfect.

104_5756

I had two pitas with one falafel in each and I am very satisfied.

104_5760

The only animal product that I have had all day was a little caramel macchiato creamer in my coffee this morning.  I cannot do almond milk or soy or rice milk in coffee.  Not sure how I’m going to solve this problem.

Have a great week everyone!  I’ve got a 5-5-16 week ahead of me.  (5 miles, 5 miles, and then 16 miles)

Happy Eating and Running!

2 thoughts on “Falafels!

Leave a Reply

