Plan to be Kind

This wasn’t tonight’s dinner.  It was Tuesday’s but I’m just getting around to blogging about it.  Zucchini spaghetti is Lydia’s favorite and she had been asking me to make it for days.  This healthy meal is the very first vegetarian meal that I learned to cook.  My sister Rosa taught me and it is so easy and delicious.

104_5807 (2)

Put on your water to boil for your spaghetti.

Take one zucchini for each person that you are serving and run it through the shredder setting in your food processor.

Dice up one sweet onion and get it sweating in a large pan with some EVOO.  Use your garlic press and press in 2-3 cloves of garlic.  Let those cook a little and then dump in all your zucchini.

104_5806 (2)

Stir all around and make sure the zucchini is somewhat coated with the EVOO and the onions and garlic are all mixed around.  Put a lid on your pan and let it cook on medium low for about 10 minutes.  Just keep an eye on it.  You want it to reduce a little but not too much.

Add your noodles to the water.

By the time your pasta is ready the zucchini will be too.

Voilà!

104_5807 (2)

You can add parmesan cheese if you’d like.

I added some cannellini  beans for some extra protein.

104_5808 (2)

I also added a little Earth Balance for some added flavor.

On the running front, I had a great 5 miler tonight.  55 minutes!  So excited to see some faster times again.  I ran with my ipod and I think my awesome tunes helped me keep the pace up.  If there is a better trumpet solo out there than the one in Penny Lane, I need to be enlightened.  I just love that song!  I won’t mention the fact that this song is my second favorite and this one is a close third on my playlist.

I’ve been listening to Joyce Meyer and her daily devotions on my phone lately and the other day she was talking about the fruits of the Spirit.

fruits-of-the-spirit

source

She said we needed to be intentional about showing kindness.  I am very intentional about planning my running.  A day doesn’t go by without me planning when I’m going to get my run in.  I decided that I would plan to be kind as well.

My first thought was to take a fellow teammate a treat.  The print shop at Durham Tech has been crazy busy because of the beginning of school.  And I mean CRAZY busy.  Everyone that has been working there is worn slam out.  Just last week, I worked from 7am – 10pm hardly stopping for a break.  I can’t believe the machine took that kind of punishment.  Well, I had to stop by Durham Tech to take them some supplies last night and on my way there I stopped to get gas.  I went in and got 2 Vitamin Waters and 2 bags of kettle chips.  One for me and one as a surprise for the person that was working the late shift at Durham Tech.  She was so surprised and happy.  I’m going to start planning kindness every day.

Goodnight Friends!

Leave a Reply

