Quite the Production

Now that I’m not eating yogurt, Overnight Oats or raw oats are just not the same.  I’ve tried them with just the almond milk but I don’t like them at all.  So, I’m back to cooking my oats each morning.

On Monday morning as I was stirring my oats, I glanced over to the counter and saw all the ingredients out and I thought to myself: Wow!  That is quite the production!  I knew I’d have to snap a picture and let you guys see my latest creation.

So this morning, I got up a little earlier and snapped away.

Here are the players:

104_5813

1/3 cup of Old Fashioned Oats (heaping)

1/3 cup of almond milk

1/3 cup of water

1 banana

sprinkles of cinnamon

1 small teaspoon of brown sugar

drops of vanilla

1 teaspoon of chia seeds

1 heaping teaspoon of ground flax seeds

1 TBSP of raisins

1 heaping teaspoon of peanut butter (today’s was Dark Chocolate Dreams)

Put your oats, almond milk and water in a pot on med. high.  Get it going while you grab your banana.  Slice the banana into the pot.  Take a potato masher and mash the banana.

Let it cook for just a little.

Add your vanilla, brown sugar, and raisins.  Mix well.  Total cooking time is around 3 minutes for me.  I like the oats chewy.

Now pour your oats into a bowl and add your flax and chia.  (I only add a small amount of chia and flax.  The recommended serving size is much larger but these are somewhat expensive and pretty high in calories.  I like them but I try not to over do it.)  Mix again and then top with a dollop of peanut butter.  The PNB is the secret to keeping you satisfied all morning so don’t skip this step.

104_5817

I know it doesn’t look that appealing but I promise you if you give it a try you will love it.  Almost like eating a dessert for breakfast.  So good!

I timed myself this morning and it took me 7 minutes from start to finish.  You’d waste that much time at least in the Bo Jangles line I’m sure.

And now for my solution to not having cream in my coffee anymore.

104_5820

So Delicious coconut milk. (vanilla flavor)  This is the answer!  So creamy and well, so delicious! Smile

104_5818

I found this coconut flavored coffee from Green Mountain and boy oh boy!  HEAVEN!

I had another great 5 miler tonight.  I felt a little twinge in my right hamstring so I’m going to really focus on some stretching.  This Saturday’s 18 miles with my Galloway group seems a little scary.  I haven’t run that far since March of 2011.

I wish for you peace and patience.  God Bless.

Leave a Reply

