Priorities

You all know that I set a goal to run one race a month for all of 2012. Well here is was the end of August and I hadn’t signed up for a race. My Galloway group was running 6-8 miles so looked for a 10k. I found a cute 10k in Sanford, NC.  Sanford is a little over an hour drive away for me but since it was for a cause that is near and dear to my heart, I was ready to run.

cara-132x300         source

Run for Their Lives was a race to benefit Carolina Animal Rescue and Adoption.

On my normal neighborhood run, I pass by a home that has a Rottweiler tied to a chain and imprisoned in a 4×4 fence.  He does have the shade of one tree and a dog house, but this breaks my heart every time I see him.  I pray for this dog every time I pass by and also pray for all other animals that are neglected or abused.

This race seemed to be the perfect place for me to spend my race money.  Such a good cause.

However, at the last minute, I switched gears and headed just 20 minutes down the road to Dunn, NC and signed up for the 9:00am ACCRF 5k. I wanted a few extra hours of sleep and I wanted to try and get a sub 30 minute 5k so I reasoned that this one was the race for me.  I made this switch for very selfish and lazy reasons that I am now ashamed to admit.

I arrived to Dunn and got registered in plenty of time and at around 8:30 they had the pre-race ceremonies. Not many 5ks do anything like this but I was quickly figuring out that this was no ordinary 5k.

IMAG0808

IMAG0796

The race began at the General William C. Lee Airborne Museum.  It truly was a beautiful place and such a gorgeous day.  And such mild weather.  67 cool degrees.  Ahh…   Fall cannot get here fast enough.

IMAG0791

IMAG0792

IMAG0794                  IMAG0795

A lady named Kim organized the race for her sister Kellie. Kellie is a beautiful young woman with 2 young boys. She has been battling this rare form of cancer for quite some time now and I was so moved by the outpouring of support that her mother, husband, sister, family, and the entire Dunn community had showered upon her.

Here’s a picture where they called up all the survivors of ACCRF to be recognized.

IMAG0818

ACCRF is a cancer that attacks the adenoids and other areas in the face. There were many survivors of this type of cancer that had traveled from all across the county to be there for Kellie and others that are battling ACCRF. One man who had ACCRF and was currently in treatment still came out and ran.  Can you believe that?  He was in treatment and he still ran!

They mayor of Dunn ran. The Congress woman from our district, Rene Ellmers, ran. There must have been over 1000 people there of all ages. Maybe some others came for selfish reasons like mine but I highly doubt it. I think almost every single person there was there for Kellie and others battling ACCRF or other types of cancer.

During the pre-race ceremonies, they had two women sing very moving and inspirational songs.  These singers were friends of Kellie and they had the most amazing voices.  There wasn’t a dry eye in the crowd.

I was crying like you wouldn’t believe.  You see, you all know that Ron just had surgery for skin cancer.  Well, the place they took out of his jaw area, was right near the main nerve that controls most of the muscles in your face.  They warned Ron that he might be disfigured for life but they had to get in there and make sure all the cancer was gone.

Praise be to God that the pathology report showed no signs of any remaining cancer.

report

Not in his face.  Not in his arm.  Not in any of the five lymph nodes.  And, the surgeon skillfully maneuvered around that all important nerve.  No change in his face and the incision is healing beautifully.  I don’t think you’ll be able to notice the scar at all.  Now his arm is a different story.  You’ll see a huge scar there but no worries.  We are just grateful for Ron’s miraculous report.

We are lucky.  We are so very lucky.  I pray for all the families out there that are battling cancer of all kinds and for that matter all those that have health issues.

I am so ashamed that all I was thinking about was getting some more sleep on a Saturday morning.  I’m so embarrassed that all I was concerned about was getting a sub 30 minute 5k.

Every survivor there and their families would have given their right arm for my petty concerns.

I’ll still support animal rescue groups every chance I get.  But from now on, I’m going to be giving more of my race money to help find cures for diseases.

I did make my goal even though it seems so trivial now.

IMAG0826

Lord my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me.”  Psalm 30:2

May God keep you and yours in the palm of His powerful and healing hands.

XXOO,

Melissa

3 thoughts on “Priorities

  1. Pingback: Race of Grace 2013 | A Handful of Spinach

Leave a Reply

