“Missy! What do you eat?”

I traveled to Wise, VA this past weekend to spend some time with my mother and step-father.

IMAG0865

On all my trips, I always call Mother when I get to Wytheville as that is about 2 hours away from Wise.  This gives her an idea of when to expect me.

When I called her on Saturday, the first words out of her mouth was, “Missy! What do you eat?”  She sounded so frustrated I simply answered that I mostly ate fruits and vegetables but that I would enjoy whatever she had in mind.

That made her happy and after we hung up, I realized just speaking those words made me happy too.

My friends, I have to report to you all that my veganism only lasted for 3 weeks.

Lydia does ok with my vegetarian meals most of the time but she was getting very frustrated too.  So, last week, I made her chicken spaghetti following The Pioneer Woman recipe.

She loved it.  And so did I.

After that one meal of meat and cheese, I ended up going back to more or less a vegetarian diet.  The yogurt and cheese proved to me to be very difficult to get away from.

I still feel very strongly that you can be a successful vegan athlete but what I discovered is that to be successful, you must plan, plan, plan, and more plan.

If you don’t have your meal ready to rock-n-roll, it is very hard to get a balanced diet.  I wasn’t prepared some days and a peanut butter sandwich was about all I could come up with.

I have 2 nieces that are big Paleo fans.  When I told one of them that I would never be convinced that good wholesome grains were bad for you she gave me this example:

What does a rancher feed his cows and pigs when he wants to fatten them up?  Grains!

I will give her that but I don’t think it is healthy to eat a lot of meat.

Another thing that happened that made me get to thinking was 2 weekends ago when I was at my sister’s, she had a huge piece of wild salmon.  She was cutting and wrapping it in small single serving size pieces.  She said she and her husband loved having salmon once or twice a week.  Sometimes on salads and sometimes just by itself served alongside a favorite vegetable.  I wanted salmon again too!

So, what I have decided for now anyway, is to make my plate as colorful and healthy as possible and ease up some on any set rules.

Now back to more of my weekend at my mother’s.

IMAG0861

I went out for a run on both Saturday and Sunday while mother was taking a nap.  On my Sunday run, I picked her these flowers and as I ran I composed this little poem.

I picked some wildflowers for my mother,

who’s love for me is like no other.

I pray she doesn’t get a chigger,

for my love for her could be no bigger.

I know, I know.  Pretty bad.  But she liked it.  Smile

On my Saturday run I found these on the sidewalk in downtown Wise.

IMAG0859

First person to correctly identify them gets nature expert bragging rights.

Here are a few more of the sights that I encountered on my runs:

IMAG0851

IMAG0860

IMAG0858

IMAG0857                               IMAG0856

IMAG0853

We had an awesome weekend.  Dinner with family.  Going to church together.  Just sitting and talking.  Watching family videos on the computer.

IMAG0864

I love you Mother!  See you again soon.  Until then, keep singing this song.

“When He reaches out His Hand,
Billows cease at His command.
Winds and waves obey His will
When He says to them, “Be still!”
What man is this they all did say
Whom the wind and waves obey?
He’s the One who sails with me;
He’s the Master of the sea.”

4 thoughts on ““Missy! What do you eat?”

    • I thought that was you Greg. You win but you have a slight advantage being from Wise and all. Hope you and Darlene are having a blast! Can’t wait to see pictures.

  1. Walnuts was my guess, too.
    Melissa, I have been following Paleo, sort of…I am not sure I could go Vegan…Love meat too much…moderation in all things…There is a great blog that I follow…Nomeatbearfeet. They are vegan, she posts great recipes. Nice pictures. Wish my parents were a short drive…I live in NH they live in AZ…Blessings

    • Yep it is Walnuts. I have a handful on my oatmeal almost every morning. I’ll give nomeatbearfeet a look. I still plan to shoot for 75-80% plant based diet. I’m just not going to be so strict anymore. You are right, moderation is the key.

Leave a Reply

