Marathon Saturday

Last Saturday morning began like every other Saturday morning has all summer long.  I got up when it was still dark.      I applied chamois butt’r.  I got my running clothes on and filled my water bottles.  I ate a slice of bread with peanut butter and banana.  I got my cup of coffee and headed out the door.  I was off to meet my Galloway group for our weekly long run.

Saturday’s long run was 23 miles!

This was what our route looked like:

Slide1

Click here for some shots of Raleigh Galloway in action.

I really felt very strong and was so happy!  I met another person that is signed up for the Medoc Trail Marathon and we ran together for about 5 miles.  He had such an easy going attitude about our upcoming race he really put me at ease.  And since this run was going so well, I kept feeling better and better and more confident.

The people in our group that were training for a half marathon stopped at 10 miles.  That left about 15 people or so in our group at this point.  5 of us were scheduled to run 23 miles and about 10 others were running 26.  Things were still going very well for me.  It had been raining on and off the entire morning but it wasn’t a problem at all.  I wore a hat so I could keep the rain off my face.  It was a little humid so the rain actually kept me nice and comfortably cool.

Then something happened.

The last couple of miles were straight up and even though I had already run them on our first loop, I let them psych me out the second time.

I started walking for more than the allowed 1 minute in our interval training.  I think I walked about 4 whole minutes.  Then it was all over.

Friends, there is one thing that I have learned in distance running and that is you can’t walk for long.  If you do, it gets harder and harder for your legs to get going again.

I walked too long and that sealed my fate.  I had to walk the entire way back up those hills.  I couldn’t muster even a shuffle.

I covered 23.1 miles in 5 hours and 21 minutes.

After the run, I went to Whole Foods and got a slice of veggie pizza and about 2 cups of fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, and cantaloupe) off their salad bar.  I knew I needed some protein and I was craving chocolate milk.  I couldn’t find any single servings so I ended up stopping at McDonald’s.  There I got the chocolate milk and I also got a Large Diet Coke.  Lately, I have been craving soda so much after my really long runs.

At this point, my running for the day was not quite over.  Some of my friends from church were running in a 5k and I had signed up to run with them.

1 in 9 5k

So….I took a hot shower, changed, and headed out the door again.

I was surprised that my legs were so fresh after only about a 3 hour rest.  I was running with one of my friends and we were clicking off a sub 10 minute mile pace for a while.  I did stop one time for some water and then I had to stop one more time when my shoe came untied.  (I didn’t double knot as I usually do and I can remember thinking to myself that it’ would never come untied in only 3.1 miles.  Rookie mistake!)

My 5k time was 33 minutes and I couldn’t have been happier.

26.2 glorious marathon miles for the day.

However, the most amazing thing to me was that the next morning when I woke up, I wasn’t very sore at all!

After the other 2 marathons that I have run, I looked like this.

Not this time.  I did feel a little twinge in my right hip but nothing bad at all.  I can only attribute this phenomenon to the Galloway intervals!  They are truly the way to keep running until you’re 100!

Galloway books

Galloway autograph

Happy running!

I wish you peace, joy, and happiness always!

xxoo,

Melissa

4 thoughts on “Marathon Saturday

Leave a Reply

