19 days away!

The City of Oaks Marathon is fast approaching.  Only 19 more days.  I can’t believe it!  I’ve really enjoyed training this go around but after this is all over, I’m switching gears.

I’m going to focus on speed instead of distance.

My good friend, Lisa, has got me started on an awesome Cross Fit cross training plan.  I start off with pull-ups which I’m doing a modified version of on Ron’s Total Gym.

  source

This week I’m up to 15.  Next I do push-ups and I’m still doing them on my knees.  This week is 18 and they are by far the hardest thing I’m doing.  Then come the crunches, 45 and then I end with air squats, 30.  I do all of this and then rest for 2 minutes.  Then repeat 4 more times.  Tally all that up and you get a whopping 75 pull-ups, 90 push-ups, 225 crunches, and 150 air squats.  Three weeks ago when I started this I could barely walk after the first workout.  I was using muscles that had never seen the light of day before.  It got better and now I don’t get too sore anymore.  However, in that 5th set, I really start to shake.  Lisa swears by this and has seen an awesome speed improvement.

After the City of Oaks, I’m going to give up…dare I say it….INTERVALS.  They have been a lot of fun and I do swear by them to stay injury free.  However, for they next few months to a half year, I want to give just straight running another try.  Oh, I’ll still throw in a few walking breaks here and there, I’m just not going to do any set intervals.

This cart horse is dreaming of being a Thoroughbred!

You know…”In my dreams, I am a Kenyan.”   🙂

Night all!

2 thoughts on “19 days away!

  1. Pondering my winter routine…Cross Fit will certainly be a big part of it. I know I am stronger that I was last year…not faster though…at 58 I wonder if there is hope for getting faster???

  2. Let me know what workouts you do as you get into your winter routine. I’m going to keep up the pull-ups, push-ups, crunches, and air squats for now but I know I’m going to want to vary the sessions some as winter rolls on.

Leave a Reply

