Plant Powerful

Ron and I went to my favorite restaurant tonight:  The Remedy Diner in downtown Raleigh.  I just love that place.

Our choices were all vegan with the exception of the cheese on the Greek salad.

photo

Oh my goodness.  This salad was just what I was craving tonight.  We told the waiter that we were sharing and he split it up for us before he brought it out.  I just love it when they go that extra mile and do that for you.

Next came our entrees.  I chose the Philly Fake Steak.

2

I asked for it on gluten free bread instead of the hoagie.  That made it a bit messy to eat but boy was it good.

Ron got the Tempeh Tantrum.

photo 1

This sandwich was the winner of the PETA’s Top 5 Vegan Sandwiches in the USA.  Pretty cool huh.  It consisted of marinated tempeh, homemade vegan pesto mayo, vegan bacon, avocado, and lettuce.  The bread was toasted Sourdough.

I ended up cutting my Philly in half and gave it to Ron so he could give me half of his.  I loved my Philly but I must say that Tempeh Tantrum was pretty darn good.  When I bit into it, I could have sworn I was eating a BLT (minus the T) with the creamiest, tastiest mayo you could imagine.  Loved it!

I left my chips and opted for Remedy’s famous coconut cream pie.

3

Don’t let those 2 forks fool you.  Ron was drinking Aviator beer on tap and when he does that he has no interest in sweets.  I ate the WHOLE thing.  It was delicious.  Don’t quote me on it but I think it is vegan too.

Our next stop was Whole Foods.

I was just introduced to YumUniverse by my good friend Rebecca.  It’s a website devoted to a Plant Powerful diet.  I’m not saying I’m going vegan again.  I’m not even saying I’m giving up salmon and tilapia on Friday nights.  I’m just saying I do feel much better when I eat mostly plants.  YumUniverse is also big into being gluten free.  I tried to go wheatless for a few weeks before Christmas and I failed miserably.  It is very hard not eating wheat.  I think it’s harder for me to go without wheat than is is dairy.  However, the evidence is mounting up on the benefits of a gluten free diet so I’m going to give it another go.

YumUniverse is having a 30 day challenge beginning Feb. 1st.  Ron and I were too excited about it to wait.  We shopped tonight and got almost everything on the shopping list YU provided in our starter kit.

104_6062

(Please excuse the sloppy panoramic picture.  I tried to do it right but my camera stitched my 2 shots together a little off center.)  You get the idea though.  Lots and lots of really great fruits and veggies.

Take a look a our wonderful kale!

104_6052

The darker one in the back is called Dinosaur Kale and it’s grown organically in Asheville, NC.  The kale in the front is the regular curly one that we eat and juice all the time.

104_6049

There were 7 lemons on the shopping list.  I haven’t looked ahead to know what in the world we will do with those.

104_6050

We got some oregano, dill, and chives there in the front.  I really hope to grow some fresh herbs myself soon.  That little thing behind the red onion is a shallot.  For some reason I was thinking a shallot was more like a leek.  I looked everywhere for it.  Ron knew immediately and found it by the garlic.

104_6053

Some of these items are gluten free oat flour, hulled hemp seed, and the pricey Madagascar vanilla in the front.

104_6054

All those brown bags in the back with the numbers on them are from the bulk bins.  We got things like shredded coconut, cannellini beans, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, and raw cashews there.

104_6055

One of this week’s recipes calls for dried blueberries.  A nice sales girl named CJ helped us find them and since they were a little expensive and we hadn’t tried them, she marked on the back “Sample.”  I was so impressed with her customer service!

104_6056

Free Dried Blueberries!  Smile  Woohoo!

Here’s a couple more shots of our loot.

104_6058

Gotta admit.  The Bone Suckin’ Sauce was not on the list but I’m addicted to it.

104_6059

We are having quiche one day.  No idea how we are going to make it without eggs or cheese.

104_6060

Ron’s one splurge was a growler of Green Man beer.

104_6061

I really am not a big beer drinker but I love Green Man!  I think it’s because the brewery is so nice.

When we got to the register, Ron and I were trying to guess how much we spent.  I guessed $200.  Ron said it would be more like $300.  We were both so happy when it only came to $150!  And, some of the items will last and last.  I told Ron that my Bone Suckin’ Sauce is not to be used to bathe in.  (He loves it too.)  We won’t have to buy vanilla or that gluten free oat flour for a while.

I’ll post some pictures and link to the recipes this week as we make our meals.

Oh, and one last thing.  I spent $4.99 on the new Runmeter App.

104_6066 (2)

It is supposed to be the most advanced iPhone app for running, cycling, etc.  It worked really good for me while I was running and I think it was dead on accurate.  I ran my normal neighborhood route and I know I went 6 miles.  The 1:15 was probably correct too.  Ron was running near me and his Garmin recorded a similar time.  The only problem was that it’s supposed to automatically post your run to Dailymile and to FB if you want it to.  It did, but it posted that I ran only 5 miles in one hour.  I’ve got to do some reading up on this to see if I can figure out where the error was.

I’ll do a full review soon.  But so far…..Runmeter is not worth $4.99.  Sad smile

I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday.  I’m running again after church tomorrow and then it’s all housework and cooking for me.

Night all!

67909_4205601063381_1281978497_n

(Like my new haircut?  It is super short!)

Leave a Reply

