Eat and Run

This morning it was 20 degrees outside.

I’d say a perfect time for a run.  Smile

Good ole Garmin and Runmeter recorded my stats.  (both very close again today)

104_6115

I was very, very happy with the results.  I did start to lose steam on the last few miles but overall it was a great run.

Here’s my splits:

Slide1

You guys know that I spent all summer with my Galloway group, but did you know that I’ve spent 14 weeks this fall and winter with a small group from church?

Pastor Carley from Mt. Zion (my church) and her husband Pastor Eric from Sunrise and I are co-leaders for a wonderful running and fellowship group.

IMG_0216

Here Carley and Eric are with Keith, aka the tall one.  Smile  Keith and Eric have both run marathons and Carley got hooked last year when she ran a half marathon.

We get together at 8:00am each Saturday morning and have a time of devotion and then we go over a running topic.  We’ve covered things like cross training, nutrition, how to prevent injuries, and the like.  After we close in prayer, we head off on our run.  We’ve run at many different locations but today’s was my very favorite.

It was an 11 miler on the American Tobacco Trail.  I was concentrating so hard on my run I forgot to snap a picture of the trail.

Click here to see how pretty it is.

Here are some more shots of our awesome group.

IMG_0219

Sarah, Robin, Jill, Jason, and Jodi

IMG_0215

April and me  Smile

IMG_0217

LeAnn and Blair

IMG_0214

Alisa and another shot of Eric

We have some more members but not everyone could make it today.  (We missed you guys!)  I hope to get a group shot of us in 2 weeks when we run the Myrtle Beach Half.  (Keith is running the full.)

It has been such a blessing to me to have this group.  Running with friends Rocks!

My husband, Ron, is in our group too but he was on call today and wasn’t able to travel too far away from his work phone and work truck.

Instead, he cranked out some treadmill miles and then whipped up another scrumptious vegan meal.

Here it is.  Quiche made without eggs or cheese.

104_6117

Click here for the full recipe.

Dairy-Free Red Quinoa & Broccoli Quiche.  YummO!

104_6118

The ingredients were broccoli, red peppers, quinoa, onions, garlic, cashews, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and the secret ingredient that held everything together, agar.

104_6125

The recipe actually called for agar flakes or powder but we couldn’t find those.  I found this whole agar at the Grand Asian Market.

Here is what it looks like out of the wrapper.

104_6126

You ask what agar is?  Well let me tell you.  It’s seaweed.  Smile

Or rather:

agar (gär, ägär)

A gelatinous material obtained from marine algae, especially seaweed, used as a medium for growing bacterial cultures in the laboratory and as a thickener and stabilizer in food products.

source

After that 11 miler today I ate almost half that quiche.

Ron made another quiche tonight but this time he put in mushrooms and some red pepper flakes.  Wowzer.  That one was very good too.

For our evening entertainment, Ron and I watched Vegucated on Netflix.  Very enlightening.

When I first started trying to get healthier back in 2009 I began enjoying so many different foods.  Everything I did was aimed at health.

Then I went through 10 months a a strict vegetarian.  Next came flexitarian.  Then vegan for 3 weeks. Now I’m back to mostly vegan but I did have Tilapia last night for dinner.

I really think my main focus is on health but I can’t deny my strong feelings for the horrors of how animals are treated.  And tonight what they showed about how fish are harvested made my skin crawl.

Don’t watch Vegucated if you are squeamish about a slaughter house.  It didn’t show that much at all and I still had my eyes buried in my knees and my fingers in my ears.

Oh well,  enough of that.  Let me close with a list of some items I never knew were vegan:

Teddy Grahams

Oreos

Duncan Hines Creamy Home-Style Frosting

and my favorite peanut butter:  Peanut Butter & Co. White Chocolate Wonderful

Hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday and a great week ahead.

Night Friends!

2 thoughts on “Eat and Run

    • It was really pretty. And delicious. My husband Ron made it. We were so excited for the Plant Powerful Challenge we started one week early. So glad that I found your site. It is so inspiring.

Leave a Reply

