Fiction Kitchen

Ron and I try to go out to dinner at least once a month.  Last Friday was it.  After a long hard week, we both wanted some good ole’ Remedy!

However, after noticing my post about going to Remedy, my good friend Rebecca, recommended Fiction Kitchen.

I hadn’t heard about FK, but I knew if Rebecca recommended the place, it had to be good.

So, FK it was!

IMG_0292

FK is located at 428 S. Dawson Street in downtown Raleigh.  They cater to Vegans and Vegetarians but I’m sure Omnivores would love it too.

We got there around 7:30 on Friday night and the nice hostess alerted me that there was an hour and a half wait.  Ron had slipped to the restroom and didn’t hear the time so I fibbed to him and told him it might be an hour or so.  The hostess took my cell number and told me she would text me when a spot opened up.

It was First Friday downtown so there were many people out and about.  We slipped around the corner to the Raleigh Depot.

IMG_0285

The Tasty Beverage Company caught Ron’s eye right off the bat and I knew right then there would be no fussing about the wait for FK.

If you are a beer lover, Tasty, is the place for you.  They had so many different beers it was mind boggling.  They also were serving some great ones on tap.  I got the Weeping Willow Wit from Mother Earth Brewing.  It was very mild just like I like it.  Ron’s was an Imperial Stout but I can’t remember from which brewery.

IMG_0282

We sat outside and sipped our beers.  The trees all had lights in them and it sorta felt like Disney World.

IMG_0284

Just after we finished our beers and were walking to one of the galleries, my phone buzzed.  Only 30 minutes in and they has a spot for 2 at the bar.  Woot!  Woot!

The staff at FK were all so friendly and efficient.

We started off with their Tasting Plate appetizer.

IMG_0286

Starting from the crackers and going clockwise, you have the tempeh pate, cashew cheese, candied nuts, and apples with apple butter.  My favorite was the cashew cheese but Ron loved the pate.

Next came our entrees.

IMG_0288

Tinga Tacos for me.

IMG_0289

And Sweet Potato Sushi Rolls with Sashimi Tofu for Ron.

Oh man!  Words cannot describe these dishes.  Absolutely delicious.

Ron’s was very spicy.  So spicy in fact, he didn’t even go for that little green ball of wasabi.  And if you know Ron, he always goes for the wasabi.

Mine was spicy too.  The cilantro slaw really packed a kick.  I loved it.  In the cup were savory black beans and seasoned grains.  They were very yummy too.

We ate every single bite!

I couldn’t try a new restaurant and not get the dessert.

IMG_0290

I forgot what they called it but I know it had Salted Caramel in the name.  It was vegan.  It was chocolate.  It was pure heaven!

The prices were very reasonable and I just loved the cute atmosphere.  FK is a winner in my book.

I can’t wait to go back and try the “Chicken” and waffles and the BBQ Pulled “Pork.”

The reason for the quotes around chicken and pork gives you a hint about where they came up with the name Fiction Kitchen.  Yeah, you guessed it.  Not a chicken or a pig in the house.  It’s just soy and tempeh pretending to be the real thing.

Go try FK soon.  And walk around the block and have your cocktail at Tasty.  I promise you.  You will be pleasantly surprised.

7 thoughts on “Fiction Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Eating Plants and Staying in Tents | A Handful of Spinach

  2. Pingback: Banana Birthday Bonanza | A Handful of Spinach

  3. Pingback: Living Kitchen Love | A Handful of Spinach

Leave a Reply

