Race of Grace 2013

Yesterday I ran the Race of Grace 5k with a group of my close friends from church.

Race of Grace 4-28-13

We had a blast!

This was the 10th annual Race of Grace and of those 10, I was running my 3rd.  This year the Race of Grace teamed up the House Your Neighbor 5k and raised money specifically for Habitat for Humanity of Wake CountyThe mission of the Race of Grace and House Your Neighbor 5K is to help those who lack affordable housing through education, inspiration, many-a-donation, and perspiration! (source)

Back in April of 2010 when I was in my first Race of Grace, I had been running for about 5 months.  I was training myself to run my first marathon using this book as my guide.  I was following it to the best of my ability but I was increasing my mileage way too fast for a beginning runner.  My ITB rebelled and I experienced my first injury.

That race, I was new to everything and since I was nursing the strained ITB, I walked the whole route.  I was with 2 of my friends from church who were also walking and I had a great time walking and talking with them.

In 2011, the Sunday of the Race of Grace, our grandson was born.  Needless to say, I skipped that year.

Last year, I had just finished up co-leading a 5k Run for God class at our church.  We used the Race of Grace as our celebration and ended up having a very large turn out from Mt. Zion.  Here’s a shot of the 2012 group.

Race of Grace

Last year my time was 31:45.  Yesterday my time was 30:58.  My goal for the race was to not stop for water and to run all of the hills.  (Downtown Raleigh is very hilly!)  I slowed way down on the up hills but I didn’t stop.  And, I flew on the down hills!  Even though I always want to run a sub 30 minute 5k (and I only have 1 time in my life), I was very happy.

I hadn’t trained as much as I wanted to and to be honest, I was afraid to look at my time.

April 2013 will go down in my running log as my lowest mileage month in the past year.Slide1

Only 25 miles in the whole entire month!  That is most assuredly NOT the place I want to be.  If I want to get faster and you all know that I do, I need to be at 25 miles per week or more!

I cannot wish and hope my way into faster times.  I’ve got to put in the effort and make the commitment.

So here you go.  I’m making a firm public promise.  May is going to be better.  I’m going to check in each week and report some good miles.  I’m even going to grade myself in 3 other areas.  Rest, Nutrition, and Cross Training.  (I saw another blogger post a report card of sorts and I thought it was a wonderful idea.  Hope that’s ok with you Running Inspired Blog)

Happy Training Ya’ll

Leave a Reply

