3 Shower Day

Today was a work day and it began as any other one does.  I slept until the last possible minute doing sit-ups in bed as I hit my snooze over and over again.

I got up and showered, packed my bag and lunch, and headed out the door.

I missed my run yesterday and I was determined to get in a quick 3 miler today even though I knew I had my Cross Fit class tonight too.

I didn’t get running until 1:30 this afternoon and by that time it was a whopping 93 degrees outside.  Adding the normal 10-15 degrees to give you an idea of how it will feel once you start moving, I knew I was in trouble.  I’m not sure what 103-108 feels like but I can tell you that today was a doozy.  I had a good run, I just had to keep it really slow and steady.

After a quick cold shower, I was back at my desk and happily working away.

Tonight  I attended my 3rd CrossFit class.  Since I am new to CrossFit, my box (CF word for gym), requires that I complete the Foundations series before I start going to the normal open classes.

1000187_297113410426239_1657168948_n (2)

source

What a night it was!  You know the song, Roxanne, by The Police?  Well for our warm-up, we had to do jumping jacks to that song.  And….whenever we heard the word Roxanne, we had to do a burpee.  Man o man!  Do you know how many times Sting says Roxanne in that song!?  I was exhausted 3 minutes into my class.  It was so much fun though.  I’ve been singing Roxanne all night and I even taught Mason how to do a burpee when I got home.  Fun times!

Next we learned a lot and focused on the overhead squats.  I’m only using a pvc pole right now and it is hard.  I can’t imagine what it is going to feel like once I start adding weight.

For our WOD (Workout of the Day) we only did 7 minutes. 7 little minutes!  7 amazingly hard minutes!

We started with throwing a 14 lb. ball high up on the wall.  We would squat down and then throw it and it had to make it over the green line.  They guys had a heavier ball and a higher mark on the wall.  Then you had to catch that same 14 lb. ball and squat again and throw again for 7 times.  Friends, my ball never made it to the green line so technically, all my throws were no reps.  It was so hard!

Then we had to do 7 pull-ups and then 7 knee-ups.  Then back to the ball throws and kept repeating it all until the 7 minutes were up.

For my pull-ups, our coach guided me to use a strong rubber band to help me get my chin up and over the bar.  When I first got the band on my foot, I was like wow!  This is easy!  Then I quickly realized, even with the band, pull-ups are killer!

The knee ups were supposed to be toe touches but all I had to do was hang on the bar and bring my knee up parallel to the ground.  Again….Killer!

When I got home and was getting out of my car, I reached over to get my purse and I could barely pick it up.  (And it’s a small purse.)

I am loving CF so much and I especially love my CF!  When I first walked in on June 1, the first thing I noticed was my favorite verse hanging on the wall.

il_fullxfull.312062602

source

I knew right then and there this was going to be a fun adventure!

I’ve stayed up way too late but I’m off to get my 3rd shower of the day and then it’s sandman time for me.

Happy almost weekend everyone!

One thought on “3 Shower Day

Leave a Reply

