Eating Plants and Staying in Tents

And so we made our way to Plant.

IMG_0706

Plant is an all vegan restaurant in Asheville, NC.  They are top rated so I was hoping we were in for a real treat.

We got there right at 5:00pm and they were just turning the sign in the window over from closed to open.

We were greeted and seated right away and the hostess was really sweet.  Even though we were the first ones in the restaurant on that Monday night, it still felt like the place was humming.  I liked the fact that the kitchen was right there out in the open.  I could tell the chefs were gearing up for a good night.

Ron found his way to the local micro brewed beers and I picked out this awesome appetizer for us.

IMG_0707

It was their BLISTERED SHISHITO PEPPERS togarashi · Maldon salt with cream cheese, bacon, and focaccia toast.  Man oh man was this the bomb!  That cream cheese was so good and those peppers.  Wowzer!  They were pretty hot but manageable.  I think the “bacon” was some sort of mushrooms and they were good but I didn’t think they tasted like bacon at all.  Ron and I ate the bread pretty fast and ended up asking for more to help cool our mouths.  They charged an extra $1 for the extra bread but we didn’t mind one bit.  To be honest, I thought it was sort of silly of them to charge that when we had already ordered this appetizer, 2 entrees, and Ron was probably on his 2nd beer by this time.

Next came the main course.

Ron got RED CURRY TOFU jasmine rice & kaffir lime cakes · teriyaki broccoli & Thai basil ·  galangal-peanut curry · arugula.

IMG_0708

And mine was JERK grilled tempeh · smashed sweet potatoes · sautéed collards · spicy serrano crudo · fried banana & Celtic salt.

IMG_0709

I thought I liked Jerk but I had forgotten about the last time that I tried it.

Ron and I sampled each other’s dishes and we cleaned our plates but I’m sad to admit that these were really nothing special at all.  Filling.  Healthy.  Somewhat tasty.  But definitely not delicious.

Mine tasted a lot like my favorite Kashi meal and I liked it but honestly, Kashi is better.

Myan Harvest Bake

The best part about both entrées was Ron’s broccoli.  That was delicious!

I couldn’t believe it but when it was time for dessert, Ron ordered one.  He never does that!

Ron got the Cannolo handmade anise shell • candied orange ricotta • espresso puddle • mocha ice cream.

IMG_0710

Mine was My Own Apple-Blackberry Pie flaky pastry · vanilla sugar ·  super vanilla ice cream · caramel.

IMG_0711

Now these were great!  They really have the dessert making down.  Loved every single bite.

Plant was pretty pricey for my taste and the thing that I found the most unappealing was the atmosphere.  Our waitress was perfect.  She kept my water glass filled, kept our table clean, and was very polite.  I think that might have been it.  She was too perfect.  The whole place was too perfect for me.  I like a little wobble to my chair and I think I identify more with people who aren’t so perfect.  I like the ones that make mistakes and mess up on your order or the ones you have to flag down because they are joking with another table.    It might have been just an off night but Plant was as stuffy to me as this painting they had on display.

IMG_0712

Plant was good and maybe some of their other entrées are better.   I don’t think I will go back though.

Fiction Kitchen here in Raleigh is 10 times better!

After dinner we headed to Yurtopia.

IMG_0760

Sky Ridge Yurts are located at the top of Sky Ridge Drive in Bryson City, NC.  Just look at this awesome view!

IMG_0759

This was our third visit to SRY and now we can say we have stayed in all three yurts.

104_5449

The purple one on the left is called The Fontana and it has a full kitchen and a private master bedroom.

The green one on the right is the Tsali and it has 2 queen beds and an efficiency kitchen.

The green one in the back is The Nantahala and that’s the one we had this time.  It has a king bed.

IMG_0721

SRY is owned and operated by my niece and namesake.  I might be just a bit biased but honestly these yurts are so special!

Here are some more shots of the interior of the one we stayed in this time.

IMG_0722  IMG_0724

IMG_0725   IMG_0726

IMG_0730  Please check out her site for more beautiful pictures!

Sky Ridge provided a welcome retreat after our busy day of zip lining and travels.  The bed and pillows are so comfortable.  The bathroom!  Oh the bathroom!  That slate shower was amazing and isn’t that basin sink so adorable!?

The yurts have a great ceiling fan and are equipped with central air and heat.  We ran them both as it was a bit chilly in the mornings but the afternoons would heat up.

They also have Wi-Fi but I tried to stay unplugged as much as I could.  The satellite television was superb.  Ron and I sat in that chair made for 2 and enjoyed The Life of Pi on our 2nd night.

If you are looking for an out of the normal getaway, please give my niece a shout.  You will be so happy you did.

Next up are my reviews of the River’s End Restaurant, Cork and Bean (the best restaurant ever), Rolling Thunder Rafting, and the highlight of the trip for me, our day hike in the Smokies!

IMG_0740   IMG_0749

IMG_0074  IMG_0768

Stay tuned….

I ran at lunch at work this week 2 times!  Woot woot!  Now on to some good long runs tomorrow and Sunday.  I might even squeeze in a 20 minute or so Cross Fit workout.  What are your exercise plans for the weekend?

2 thoughts on “Eating Plants and Staying in Tents

  1. This is he dumbest review ever. If you can even remotely compare this to a frozen meal means you have not frigging taste or class. Stay home!

    • You’re right. I should give Plant a 2nd chance. I did love the appetizers and the desserts though. Have you been? What’s your favorites at Plant?

Leave a Reply

