Run with God

Thinking back on our day hike / run, it will always hold a very special place in my memories.  It was absolutely perfect.

IMG_0768 IMG_0769

The drive up to Deep Creek from Bryson City is a very short 10 minute ride.  All along the way you will see tubing companies galore.  If you want to tube, Deep Creek is the place.

We were looking for a place to run and with one look down the trail, I knew our waitress at Cork and Bean hadn’t led us wrong.

IMG_0770

We began on Deep Creek Trail and that path was wide and not very hilly at all.  It was graved for most of the way and lead us past the beautiful Tom Branch Falls.

IMG_0772

I totally paused my Garmin and stopped to just breathe in this beauty and snap some pictures.

When we got 1.7 miles in, we went to the right and ended up hiking straight up for .6 miles and then straight down for .5 miles.  My Garmin had us at 2000 feet for most of the way but when we got to the top we were at 2400 feet.   It wasn’t a hard hike at all and I’m sure some experienced trail runners would have loved it.  Ron and I chose to hike and concentrate on our footing.

(Who am I kidding?  No way I was running up that mountain for a half mile!  I would have died!Smile)

IMG_0787

IMG_0773 IMG_0775

When we got back down, the trail widened up again and was graveled.

It lead us past Indian Creek Falls.

IMG_0778

IMG_0780 IMG_0781

The roots of that tree that we were standing on were so cool.  The creek was flowing right under them.

It wasn’t long and we were back at Tom Branch Falls and I stopped again for another picture.

IMG_0783

We covered 4.5 miles in 1 hour and 11 minutes.  It was a perfect workout!  I loved all the beautiful flowers we saw along the way.

IMG_0786

IMG_0791

IMG_0795

Click here for a nice YouTube video of the area.  I so want to go back since we missed the Juney Whank Falls.  They look awesome!

I hope everyone had a great weekend.  I ran 7 miles on Saturday and was happy with my time of 77 minutes.  Today I ran 10 in 2:16 and had a good run but I ended up walking a good bit.  I listened to my new app, Zombies Run and it was really cool.  Totally liked the mission and loved that I had to run fast at certain times to not get caught by the Zombies.  (Thinking back now, that might have been why I tuckered out early and ended up having to run / walk at the end.)

Hope you all have a wonderful week ahead.

My goals are to eat clean, cross train, and to complete all 4 of my planned runs.  I’m going to go ahead and let everyone know that I’ve been bitten by the full marathon bug again.  I’m thinking about doing Thunder Road in Charlotte, NC.  I’ve got 9 weeds.  I know, I know.  I’m CRAZY!  Smile

1235451_530641127005685_1498368195_n source

Night All!

2 thoughts on “Run with God

Leave a Reply

