A Night in St. Augustine

Last month Ron and I were headed to the Gasparilla Half Marathon and we made a stop along the way at the historic Conch House in Saint Augustine, Florida.

DSC_0116

The Conch House has been owned and operated by the Ponce family since 1946.  It’s located right on the Intercostal Waterway just down from the St. Augustine Lighthouse.

DSC_0122     DSC_0123

DSC_0134

DSC_0142DSC_0135

DSC_0136

I fell in love with this little motel, restaurant, and marina the minute we got there.

At first, Ron was in the mood to go out and explore and try to find a micro brewery but we ended up just moseying on over to the Tiki lounge.  Ron got a beer and I ended up with their famous Goombay Smash.

DSC_0042

It had coconut rum, dark rum, 151 rum, apricot brandy and a blend of orange and pineapple juices.  Man was it good!

This was our 26th wedding anniversary trip and Ron got me a new camera.  I spent the rest of the evening playing.

Here’s Ron shot in portrait mode.

DSC_0056

Check out this shot where I caught the pelican in flight!

DSC_0044

And these shots of the lovely marina.

DSC_0049                DSC_0080                     DSC_0096

I just kept playing and playing.  I love the shots of the pelicans!

DSC_0048           DSC_0108

DSC_0201

DSC_0084

And check out this shot of a dove.

DSC_0228

I’ve got a lot to learn in photography and I know I’m going to have a blast practicing.

Just when the sun was going down and they were lighting the tiki torches, we headed over to the restaurant.

DSC_0120

We sat in a private tiki hut just like one of these.

DSC_0232

Here was our view taken from our table.  I used the night setting.

DSC_0153

Dinner started off with some more drinks.  Another Goombay Smash for me! Open-mouthed smile

DSC_0152

The conch fritters!

DSC_0174

And the crab cakes!

DSC_0173

Since we had 2 appetizers, Ron and I shared the Florida Cracker Combo.

DSC_0179

And you better believe I saved room for their famous Key Lime Pie!

DSC_0185

On Yelp, you can see all kinds of reviews of this place.  A lot of people love it and a lot of people hate it.  I’m in the love it crowd!  Everything tasted delicious and the romantic tiki hut table was so cute!

The next morning I got my favorite shot of the lighthouse.  We had gone out just at dawn to try and catch the sunrise.  The lighthouse was still on and Ron helped me capture the beam of light.  (He counted so I’d know when to snap.)

DSC_0190

If you are ever in St. Augustine, give The Conch House a try.  You might be pleasantly surprised.

One thought on “A Night in St. Augustine

  1. Pingback: The St. Augustine Lighthouse | A Handful of Spinach

Leave a Reply

