Raw Tacos

Ron and I have tried a lot of different “foodie” things recently but tonight was our first taste of Raw.

I’ve heard about the raw food craze but I really didn’t think much about it.  In Scott Jurek’s book, Eat and Run, he mentioned that he was raw for a while but that he really found it took too long to chew all that raw food so he switched back to vegan.  So, that’s always been my outlook.  If Scott says no, then I wasn’t interested.

I was so shocked to come home to raw tacos a la’ Ron.

DSC_0001

Boy were they delicious! 

All Ron did was put some nuts (walnuts and pecans), spices, and sun dried tomatoes in the food processor.  Then more nuts (cashews), lemon juice, salt, and water in the blender for the “sour cream”.  He used this video for the inspiration on the taco meat and this site for the “sour cream”.

I asked Ron how he got the idea of making these and he told me that he saw some raw tacos at Whole Foods and that sparked his interest.

These are keepers.  So delicious!

I’m very excited that we have leftovers for lunch for tomorrow.

12 days until my next half marathon and I’m already getting lazy again.  I haven’t run since last Thursday.  Bad, bad, bad.  I know Rock-n-Roll Raleigh is going to be super crowded and I’ve decided that I’m just going to relax and enjoy the run and stick with Ron the whole way.  However, I don’t want to lose any of that miracle swiftness I found the other week in Wilmington.  Gotta keep working.  I might check out Cross Fit again this summer.  My friend has been talking about it and it really has been calling my name.  Core Strength is what I have to get to run faster!  Nothing is going to change drastically unless I  make some drastic changes and keep at it.  

Happy Running!  Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

