Simple Twist

My good friend Lisa recommended Simple Twist to Ron and me since she knows we try to eat local and organic.  (Hey you can’t get much more local and organic than the fresh eggs she and her adorable boys deliver to us every other week or so!)

Tonight was the perfect night.  Ron and I were out and about in the 40/42 area and we ended up getting hungry.  We could have got some groceries and gone home to cook, but instead our van veered into the parking area in front of Simple Twist!

IMG_0293

 

For a Friday night at 7:30ish they were really hopping.  We had to wait a few short minutes for a table but I was glad to do so.  Something about stepping into such a happening place, I knew that many people wouldn’t be there if it wasn’t top notch.

I had to try the the Twisted Guac.  I didn’t notice that it was coming with bacon and had to pick it off.

IMG_0288

Oh my word!  It was awesome.  Something about the blue cheese with the avocado and cilantro made this guac so special.  It was spicy but not too hot.  Absolutely perfect!  I didn’t really care for the Verde salsa. It didn’t have that much flavor to me.  But the guacamole!  Holy Guacamole!

Ron’s starter was the Twisted Salad with the pineapple/mango dressing.

IMG_0286

He loved it.  I tasted the dressing and it was to die for.  So scrumptious!

There wasn’t a lot of veggie choices on the menu but we spotted the Peace, Love, and Veggie Sandwich.  We both got one.

IMG_0289 IMG_0290

 

Ron loved it but for me, there was missing something.  The veggies were grilled to perfection and the bread was great but I felt it needed some sort of pop.  I ended up dipping my sandwich into what was left of Ron’s pineapple/mango dressing and then in ketchup.  Very good but for me, not the best veggie sandwich I’ve ever tasted.

The fries were perfect!

Ron was happy to get his favorite local brew, 4042 Stout, from Deep River Brewing out of Clayton.  If you love craft beer, this is the place for you.  They had a great selection.  If I hadn’t been the DD I would have loved to tried some of the fancy cocktails.

My selection from Simple Twist’s dessert menu was this divine chocolate gauche cheesecake.    So delicious!

IMG_0292

The Cleveland area is very lucky to have this wonderful Cafe and Bar.  I loved the music and the vibe in the restaurant made me feel like I could have been in downtown Raleigh.  Our server was the sweetest ever and her service was impeccable.

There were a slue of omnivore selections on the menu and I bet they were all perfect.  I will definitely go back.  I can’t believe it has taken us so long to try them out.  What a gem right here in our community!

 

Leave a Reply

