Accountability Partner

Back in the summer of 2009 I decided to play around with the new little thing that my girls were raving about.  It was a little thing called Facebook.  Ha!

I found a few old friends and connected with many of my current friends.  Next came my sisters, nieces and nephews, aunts and cousins, and even my mother.  I had a blast sharing pictures and keeping in touch.  It was so cool to be able to connect in almost real-time.

For as many bad things that I can name off about FB, I must admit that it has been the best accountability partner ever!

My friends and family knew I had just started running and their encouragement when I was running for 60 seconds at a time was the catalyst that kept me going. I’d post little updates about how happy I was and how my training was going.  Everyone would like my posts and comment with inspiring words.  I was hooked.  I looked forward to my workouts. I couldn’t wait to let everyone know what I had done.

Then during the next year when I was training for my first marathon, FB really gets a lot of the credit for keeping me accountable.  I knew my FB friends were aware of my training schedule and whether they really cared or not about my long runs, I felt that they did.  I wouldn’t miss a single training session because I didn’t want to have to admit it on FB.  I’d plan my whole day around getting my run in.  Even this little blog was an accountability partner of sorts.  I can specifically remember one time it was snowing and I was excited to go out and run just so I could come home and post that I did it.  LOL.  Good thing Lydia and my good friend Sheila called me out on it.  🙂

31cd60b979a0066132277d24dc2cd0bb
Source

As much as I know posting on FB every little exercise victory you make can be a little crazy, I still find it very motivating.  Same goes for posting smoothies and energy balls.

1376580_10200757338560901_865224804_n
10006078_10203130758854925_9040344575187385004_o

727f1d826606b527accd99997340e334
Source

Crazy as FB is you’ve got to admit that it is really fun!

So where am I getting with this little post?

For 2015, I’m asking each and everyone of my blog readers and my Facebook friends to be my accountability partners.

You know my priorities begin with my faith.  So, if you don’t see me in church for several weeks in a row, call me out on it!

Life as a Christian
Source
You know I really want to cross train regularly so if you’re my new CF friends and I don’t come to The Garage, message me and let me know you miss me.

Meet me at the Bar
Source
You know I’m trying to lose weight so if you see too many dessert photos, remind me that I’ll never out train a poor diet!

 

Bad nutrition
Source
You know I want to run faster so don’t let me skip the hard track workouts.

hard work
Source
I’m counting on you all to help.

I’ve got a few races on the agenda so far and I’m really looking forward to an awesome 2015.

Run for the Roses 5k – February 8th – For this race I’m shooting for a good solid sub 30 minute 5k.  I’ve only run one 5k in my life faster than 30 minutes and I so want my 5k time to keep getting faster.

Tobacco Road Half Marathon – March 15th – My goal is of course tied to speed for this race as well.  It is a flat course and it would be great to get below 2:12 and set a PR early in the year.

Rock-n-Roll Raleigh Half Marathon – April 12th – All I want to do for this race is have fun and laugh in the face of all of Raleigh’s hills!

Race 13.1 Raleigh – June 6 – This one will probably be a time goal for me as well.

Since I’m turning 50 in 2015, I’m thinking about running a 50k.  I’m mailing my registration for the Hinson Lake 24 Hour Ultra on Monday and I’m crossing my fingers I get in.  That race is in September so it will be the perfect time to fit in to my fall racing schedule which just happens to be wide open at this time!

Happy New Year!  Happy always!

Melissa

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

