Ron’s Restaurant Quality Reubens

Ron has been making tempeh Reubens for me for about 4 years and they just keep getting better and better!  I love them!

DSC_0001

Tonight’s was extra special because Ron made them with his own, homemade sauerkraut.

Six days ago, he took some red cabbage, green cabbage, carrots, garlic, onions, and salt and mixed it all together.

He kept it in a dark place and “burped” it every morning.

This was how it turned out.

DSC_0006DSC_0002

Next he mixed his sauerkraut with some 1000 island dressing and placed it on top of some tempeh that he had marinated in this Thai Peanut Dipping and Marinade Sauce.  The bread is Rye and the cheese was Swiss.  Grill it up and enjoy!

DSC_0004

These Reubens are totally restaurant quality and have the most amazing flavor.

We had ours tonight with some tasty sweet potato fries.

Total Win!

This week on the exercise front has been pretty good.  I got in 3 good CrossFit workouts.  I’m still modifying a lot but I’m starting to feel a teeny bit more coordinated and a lot stronger.

I got in one run with my friends before work on Tuesday but Thursday we skipped due to the 12 degree weather.  I did get a 4 mile hill workout on the treadmill and tonight I did 5 miles.

I’ve had some ITB pain and that is so confusing to me because I’ve completed 3 weeks of physical therapy specifically targeting my ITB and hips.  I’m really trying to remain positive and stay the course.

Tomorrow is my track workout and it is only 4 miles with 4 strides.  I’m shooting to get it in BEFORE church!  I love Sunday’s so much more when I have my run in before church and get the have the rest of the day free.

9a987362045e3ce8fb9875f90f82c87f

 source

Happy Eating!  Happy Running!  Happy CrossFitting!  🙂

Leave a Reply

