Run for the Roses 5k

I’m a little behind in posting but I wanted to share my latest 5k experience.

On February the 8th I participated in an awesome 5k called Run for the Roses.  My friend, Jordan, had won an entry and she was already scheduled to run another race that day so she gave it to me.  Thanks Jordan!  And congrats on an awesome marathon relay at the Massacre Marathon!

This was the 35th annual Run for the Roses making it one of the oldest 5k’s in this part of North Carolina.  The cool thing was that all female finishers were presented with a rose at the finish line.  I really love local races and I love that they give so much back to the community.

I got to the race a little early and got in a good warm-up and stretch.  I like races but I like them a whole lot more when I have a friend to race with.  I’ll admit.  I was a tad bit lonely.  There were 837 racers and lots of spectators but since I’m pretty shy, I stuck to myself.

The weather was glorious!  So warm on that February day that I wore shorts and a short sleeved t-shirt.  We couldn’t have asked for a prettier day.

My plan was to run steady and to not walk on any of the hills.  I also didn’t want to stop at the water stop.  I was hoping for a sub 30:00 minute 5k and I got close.  (my Garmin read 30:12)  The race showed me coming in at 31:12 and that put me 10th in my age group.  The race results chip and gun time were both 31:12 so I’m not sure what happened.  I started pretty far back in the pack so there was no way those 2 times should have been equal.

The most memorable thing that happened to me in this race was I passed an old lady on a hill.  I smiled and encouraged her but she did not even acknowledge me.  I was floored!  Racers are usually so nice and I thought I was being supportive. Well, a few minutes later she passed me!  This lady had to be in her 70s and I was now totally humiliated.

Then we started up a hill and she lost some steam and I passed her again.  This time I turned around and looked at her bib number so I could look up her age.  I know, I know.  Pretty creepy but I had to know.

She was 73 years old and her finishing time was only 1 minute behind me!

Thinking back on everything, maybe she didn’t hear me as I encouraged her.  Maybe she was just concentrating so hard on her own racing strategies.  I’m not upset anymore.  Now I’m very inspired!  I hope I can run a 32 minute 5k when I’m 73!

After the race, I walked back to my car and grabbed my phone and snapped a couple of pictures.

IMG_1811 IMG_1810

Check out that Carolina Blue sky!

We’re snowed in today and last week we had an ice storm.  I didn’t run one single day last week.  I was going to run this weekend but my new granddaughter arrived!

Meet Daphne Alice Mills!

IMG_1834

Mom and baby are doing great and I so thankful for my prayers being answered.  We are so blessed!

Signing off and hitting the treadmill!

Think Spring everyone!

Disclaimer:  I gave up FB for Lent so I won’t see any comments that you make unless you put them on my blog.  I kept FB Messenger so I could keep up with my CF and running friends but I haven’t looked at FB since last Wednesday.  I needed this break.  I’m somewhat addicted.  Hoping after Easter to bring FB back in a controlled way and not open the app 10 million times a day.

2 thoughts on “Run for the Roses 5k

  1. Congrats Grandma! She’s beautiful!! As for the race, your Garmin is more accurate. If the gun time/chip time are exactly the same, then all the chips went active at the same time. So your chip time was moving before you ever crossed the start line. Great run, and enjoy that sweet new grandbaby, and Mason too of course! 😆

Leave a Reply

