Belle and Books

It has been a snowy, icy, sick few weeks for us here at the Cupit home and today we were itching to get out.  Our grandson, Mason, was just getting over a stomach bug last weekend when we kept him when our granddaughter, Daphne, was born.  Ron came down with the sickness a few days after Mason but I thought I was in the clear.  No such luck.  It hit me hard on Friday and I had to take a half day off from work.  That’s the first time I’ve missed work in over 4 years.  I was feeling so much better today -really back to my old self.

After church, Ron and I ventured out even though the weather was still cold and rainy.  We were heading to Whole Food in Cary to pick up a few things and decided to stop in and try a new farm to table restaurant we saw featured on UNC-TV, Belle of Cary.

IMG_0349 IMG_0350

Belle is located right in the heart of downtown Cary at 324 S. Academy St.  The UNC-TV special let us know that when the owner finished decorating it and she looked around, it reminded her so much of her grandmother Belle’s place, that ended up being the name.  It wasn’t crowded at all today and I know it had to have been because of the weather.

IMG_0329
IMG_0336

IMG_0339

I started off with a mimosa and Ron had this huge cup of coffee.

IMG_0334 IMG_0335

I didn’t crop out the chair in the background of Ron’s coffee shot because I wanted to report that Ron did not like these metal chairs. He didn’t think they were comfortable. I loved them however. So cute!

I had cream of broccoli soup and the veggie quiche.  Delicious.  The fruit was so sweet and fresh!  The quiche was perfect!

IMG_0333 IMG_0338
Ron got a house salad and the veggie wrap with cole slaw as his side.
IMG_0332

IMG_0337
He got the salad because he especially wanted to try the goat cheese. He had heard it was from a local farm in Hillsborough and he was dying to try it out.  Ron love everything he ordered.  He let me have a taste of the veggie wrap and I immediately knew it was the most unique veggie wrap I had ever tasted.  (And you know I have had a LOT of veggie wraps!) I couldn’t quite figure it out and even after we asked the server we still weren’t sure what it was.  Then it hit Ron.  It was cinnamon.  I took one more tiny taste and that was it.    So flavorful!  Ron is the master of cole slaw and we are happy to report that Belle’s was very good.  Just a little sweet and perfectly seasoned.

We were too full for dessert but as we were leaving we noticed that Belle is a bakery too and you can stop by just for sweets if that’s what you are in the mood for.

IMG_0342

IMG_0343

I had to get something and I ended up with a raspberry white chocolate scone. A few hours after brunch we were still out and about today so I dug into it and loved every bite. I tried to only eat half but it didn’t work. So yummy! I’ve had scones before but this one was very different. It reminded me of my mother’s biscuits.
IMG_0348
Ron and I loved Belle but I can’t give it a completely glowing review. I hate this because I was so excited for it after watching the special on UNC-TV.
I think what got me was when we walked in we weren’t immediately greeted. We had to stand around a little while and we were confused. We didn’t know if we should seat ourselves or if there was a hostess. It probably was only a couple of minutes but when you don’t know what to do it seemed like forever. Also, between each course and getting our bill we ended up waiting. Remember, I mentioned that they were not busy while we were there and I didn’t think there needed to be so much down time. Our server was nice and there were others about helping out but it just felt off to me. Ron said if we had been there on a beautiful Spring day it might have felt totally different. I’m going to give them another chance the first warm day we have. I’d love to dine out on the porch.
IMG_0346IMG_0351
Now for a little of what I’ve been enjoying lately:
These La Croix waters are so good! Ron and I each got one when we were at Target today.
IMG_0354
And here’s what I’ve been reading listening to lately:

IMG_0355
Rosa shared this with me this month. She has been driving a lot more than me lately so she has been going to the library as well as listening to our monthly Audible selection. Winter Garden was to the fall of Leningrad as The Book Thief was to the US and allied bombings in Germany.  I was shaken to the core.  What those poor souls endured was so awful!  War is very very ugly.  Now I’m not saying Winter Garden was anywhere near as beautifully written as The Book Thief but it was a great little book.  I’m so glad Rosa shared.  Since I listen to books, the narrator is very important to me. I didn’t like the narrator at first but when she starts telling the story of the war she uses a Russian accent and I loved that!  I’ve got to book a cruise to Alaska stat and I must have caviar and shots of vodka soon!

Our January Audible selection was Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.

Midnight
We are late to the party on this one and boy was it a doosey!  I absolutely loved it!  I’m not going to give too much away because I think you might find yourself loving it more if you don’t research the book beforehand.  I highly recommend the Audible recording.  The performer was OUTSTANDING!  I was laughing so hard in some of the parts.  Right after I finished the book, Ron found the movie on Time Warner on Demand for me.  It was a good thing it was free because I didn’t love the movie.  That’s the problem when you enjoy the book first.  Often it is a great movie on its own but nothing will ever compare to the Audible performance I listened to.  Ron and I are planning on a trip to Savannah soon.  I can’t wait to find that statue and take a picture by it.

Our December Audible selection was The Snow Child.

The Snow Child

What an enchanting and magical fairy tale.  I loved the Alaskan setting and found myself drawn into this beautiful little book.  If it’s still snowing in your area, I urge you to get this book and enjoy!

Two other selections were The End of the Affair and The Aviator’s Wife.  The first one I didn’t like but I loved The Aviator’s Wife.  I want to watch the movie The Spirit of St. Louis so bad but I can’t find it anywhere.

In my Audible account I have Unbroken waiting for me.  I plan to start that tomorrow.  What’s on your book shelf lately?

What good restaurants have you been to?

On the running front I am doomed.  I did get in one good treadmill run this week (a 5k in 28:42!) but that is all.

5k

We have the Tobacco Road Half Marathon coming up in 14 days and I am no where ready for it at all.  I’ll finish but it’s not going to be pretty.  Since I’m not trained up well enough I’m planning on doing intervals if I need them and go into the race with a joyous attitude and just have fun.  Hopefully we’ll have pretty weather.  I am so ready for Spring!

7 thoughts on “Belle and Books

  1. Sometimes when you go to a race just for fun with no expectations, it ends up being the best run because its completely for the fun of it. Hope it goes well.

  2. Started Mercy (Jodi Picoult) today. Tried Hot Point Deli (at least I think that’s the name) recently with my parents. It’s located over by Cook Out in Cary. I wasn’t impressed, but my parents enjoyed it. Ya’ll seem to have similar food tastes!

Leave a Reply

