The Plan

Well, here’s my plan for the 10 5 ks.

Since Ron is running a half with me on June 6th he will be in training mode my birthday weekend.  That’s great news because he has agreed to run the first 4 5ks with me.  We’re starting at 6:00am at the McDonald’s behind Crabtree and running a little past Shelley Lake and back.  I ran this route last weekend with my Centennial Running friends and I love how shaded it is. The only sun you have is a short distance on the top crest at Shelley.

That should take us about 2.5 hours and then we’ll come back home.  Ron has Kung Fu on Saturday and he’ll have to get ready for that.  But for me, I want to go to the Raleigh Galloway kick-off.  It’s from 9-11:30 and even though I know I’ll be too shy to ask for a picture with Jeff, I might can score some free running swag.  Last year they gave out my favorite running hat.  I don’t want to miss it.

I figure once I get home and have lunch and rest a little, I can do 2 more 5ks around my neighborhood on my tried and true normal running route.  I can’t even begin to think how many miles I have run on these streets over the last 5 years.  I can run them in my sleep!

Next up, probably around 3:00pm,  I can go to White Deer Park in Garner and walk at least 1 5k and maybe run one more.

To finish it up, I’m thinking of going to Sam’s Branch Greenway and running just past Riverwood and back.  I think I’ll shoot to start those last 2 5ks around 6:00pm.  It should be a little cooler at that time and then afterwards we can all go to Deep River Brewing in Clayton.

Well there you go.  Oh the best laid plans of Mice and Melissa!

If there’s a rainstorm I’m putting it out there right now that I am postponing.  I want this to be fun.  I know rain can be awesome and I’ll never forgot my monsoon half at The Flying Pirate in 2012.  I’m just not interested in tackling my first 50k in the rain.

When I check this off the bucket list, my birthday will mark my official summer training program.  I’m registered for Hinson Lake on September 26th.  Could a 50 miler at Hinson be within my reach?  I think I’m just crazy enough to try it!

Then I’m itching to go back to OBX this November and maybe Kiawah in December.  So excited!

I’m not forgetting my CF goals either.   Double Unders, real push-ups on my toes, and a pull-up…..you will be mine!

(Check out this grandma’s pull-ups!)  Inconceivable!

Scott Jurek quote

Happy Everything!

2 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. Pingback: 50k for my 50th | A Handful of Spinach

Leave a Reply

