50k for my 50th

I spent May 30 (the day before my birthday) running all day long.  I had a blast.

My Plan didn’t go exactly as hoped starting out with the fact that I overslept.  Sorry Amelia and Kim!  It was so sweet of you guys to offer to run with me.

I woke up at 5:23am and I had hoped to be running by 6:00.  Ron was going to run with me too and there was no way he was going to get ready that fast.

I think we started around 7:15 or so.

20150530_063859

Take a look at Ron’s shirt.  That awful Beaver with the banjo was the Rock-n-Roll shirt.  Horrible!

Anyway, 5k #1 and #2 were awesome.  Ron and I did intervals of running 3 minutes and then walking 1 minute.  It was a gorgeous morning and we both did really well.  Our time was 1:29:23.

Next up I really wanted to go to the Galloway kick-off so I took a break and headed to Raleigh.  I wasn’t shy this time and I got this picture and an autographed book from Jeff Galloway himself!

10982467_10204269840051243_5888046899578595470_n

Jeff re-qualified for Boston recently with some insanely short intervals.  I am excited to try them out this summer.  I think the group that I will be in will run for 60 seconds and then walk for 30 seconds.  I’ll know next week at my first Galloway run.

When I got home it was after lunch and the heat and humidity were way too much for me.  I decided to tackle #3 and #4 on the treadmill.   I cranked the AC down to around 72 and put the ceiling fan on high.  My time for those was 1:19:40.

I should mention some of my fueling strategies up to this point.  Before the first 2 5ks I had a banana.  Afterwards I had a huge green smoothie.  I took one gel during #3 and #4 and then afterwards I had a hummus wrap filled with greens.

Next up my good friend Connie met me at White Deer Park and we did 3:1 intervals for 5k #5.  Our time was 37:47.  Thanks so much Connie for running with me and for my birthday present of White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter!  You know I love it!  (PS.  I can’t believe I forgot to ask you to pose for a picture.  Sad smile)

Then I was supposed to meet some other friends to walk my next 5ks but that didn’t end up happening.  I walked a mile, ran a mile, and walked the last 1.1.  Then I did 60:30s for the next 3.1 and my time was 53:21.  It was beginning to cool down some and I really had a nice time.  I love White Deer Park so much!

Next I slipped through the Wendy’s drive thru and got a baked potato and a junior Frosty.

Then Ron met up with me again and we ran #8 and #9 on the Clayton River Walk by the Neuse River.

20150530_202139

We did a combination of 60:30s and 2:1s and had a great time.  I was so impressed with how well Ron was running.  Our time was 1:31:35.  It was getting dark by this time and we didn’t have headlamps.  Ron was all set to run anyway even though that would have meant over 15 miles for him.  The farthest he’s ever gone is 16 miles.  He was so sweet!

I couldn’t ask that of him though and we stopped after #9 and headed to Double Barley Brewing to celebrate!  Deep River Brewing closed at 9:00 and it was a good thing because DB had it going on.  Their beer garden was so inviting and relaxing.

20150530_212629

We had my favorite guacamole and chips and chips.

20150530_212904

And then I had this awesome pizza!

20150530_213938

Oh my word.   Delicious!

We made it home around 11:00 and I hit the treadmill to knock out #10.  I have to admit I was a little tipsy after 2 Thilla in Vanillas the first mile was interesting to say the least.

I got it done though and finished up with a time of 49:25.

20150530_235451

I finished with 5 minutes to spare in the day!  Smile

20150530_235529

I hopped in the shower and was asleep in no time!

My combined time added up to be 7:42:12.

The best news was when I woke up on Sunday I wasn’t sore one bit!  Intervals rock!  Seriously.  31 miles and it was like I hadn’t even run.

I am so stoked to try for a 50 Miler this September at Hinson Lake!

Next up my 13.1 recap from yesterday!

3 thoughts on “50k for my 50th

  1. Hi Melissa I am starting a web community of 50+ Runners. It is a new site and I have a section where I feature a new runner each week. It is called “My Story” I’d love to feature you for this section in the near future. And we’d love to have you as part of the community. If you are interested in being interviewed for “My Story” send me an email at fiftyplusrunner@gmail.com The site is http://fiftyplusrunner.com Just remember it is new and not yet launched as official launch date is friday. I am hoping it grows into a site that Encourages Inspires and Supports all runners over the age of 50. I look foward to hearing from you. TY Ron

Leave a Reply

