Race 13.1

Here’s a quick recap of this past Saturday’s Race 13.1.

This is a local race that has all the feel and perks of a big race.  The number one thing that was so awesome was it began at North Hills Mall so there was plenty of free parking.

Ron and I were ready to race!

20150606_062159

We weren’t running together but we were both planning on running intervals.  I decided to give the 60:30 a try.

I hated it!  It wasn’t a big race but most of it was on the greenway and it was an out an back.  By mile 4ish, the leaders were heading back at you so you had to keep to the right.  There were lots of people doing intervals and we kept stopping and starting at different times and playing leapfrog.  Intervals themselves are ok but in races I find them very annoying.

By 6 miles, I was done with them.

My pace to that point was 12:06.  By mile 7 I had dropped my average down to 11:57.  By mile 8, I was averaging 11:55.  I stayed at 11:55 until around mile 11.  The course was pretty flat except for the Lassiter Mill Hill on the last half mile.  Even with the flat, I was slowing down quite a bit.  I ended up with a pace of 12:12 overall.  Makes me wonder what would have happened if I had stuck with the 60:30s.  Would I have stayed at the 12:06 or possibly gotten quicker?

Melissa's results Race 13.1 June 2015

Ron didn’t do a good as he usually does but he had a good run and a lot of fun.

20150606_101344

20150606_100846

He finished up at 3:11.

Ron's results Race 13.1 June 2015

I’ve made him promise to actually train for the next 7 weeks and make sure he clears the 3 hour cutoff at our next race, the San Francisco Half!

Blue Cross Blue Shield of NC was at the race and they took this neat photo.  I pledge to Eat Better.

Pledge to eat right

I chose the background of the mountains because my hero is currently running the AT.  Go Scott Go!  And who can eat better than The Jerker?!  Goodness knows that’s where I need to focus.  I’ve done pretty good this week.  Breads are my total weakness.  I tend to do better the better I prepare.

meal prep

And I did do better after the race thanks to the awesome restaurant that provided the race food!  Three cheers for Sassool!

20150606_101954

Rice and lentils, pita chips, and hummus!  Yummo! (They served chicken too for the omnivores.)

I loved the race and the shirt and medal are very nice.

20150606_143549

Happy Racing!  Happy Running!  Happy Eating!

One thought on “Race 13.1

  1. Pingback: The City by the Bay | A Handful of Spinach

Leave a Reply

