The City by the Bay

The San Francisco marathon had been on my bucket list for a long time.  The romance of the Golden Gate Bridge and the City by the Bay was so appealing!  So, when Ron finally announced that this was the summer we were flying to Cali to see his family, I jumped at the chance that we might could squeeze in a few days to ourselves in Frisco.

We signed up for the half marathon and boy was it a doosey!

The marathon was top notch all the way.  The expo was at Fort Mason and was very well run.

Fort Mason

It was a big race but they had plenty of volunteers to keep things moving right along.

DSC_0006

fitbit was a sponsor of the race and they had this neat photo booth.

11779799_10204586184519657_512124383798928377_o - Copy

Another cool thing was I got to meet Joel from Allied Medal Hangers.

20150725_103224

They made ours and we love them so much!

Melissa's medalsRon's medals

(I promise, Ron designed his own. LOL)

After we looked at everything at the expo, we went to the beer garden they had right outside and both enjoyed a Lagunitas.  This was our view from the garden.

Alcatraz with ferry

Alcatraz!

We were tired the day we arrived so we decided to stick to East Coast time and so for the early morning marathon on Sunday we were all smiles.

11196224_10204653482602067_7326378521764481274_n

Here’s a nice shot of that bridge (The San Francisco – Oakland Bridge) in the daytime.

SF - Oakland Bridge

Hoka was another sponsor of the race and they let us download these race photos for FREE!  So cool!

race_1085_photo_22754260race_1085_photo_22467845 - Copyrace_1085_photo_22612432 - Copyrace_1085_photo_22482554 - Copy

Ron and I did so well!  We were both thrilled with our race.

11796470_10204591381249572_6771799540465110364_n - Copy

Yes, they gave out space blankets in July!  It was pretty chilly once we stopped running.  Oh, and there was no beer at the end of the half.  You got Irish Coffees!  That was awesome especially since it was so chilly.  My beer lovin’ husband even warmed up to the idea and had and Irish Coffee too.

Here’s our results:

Mel SF resultsRon SF results

That was an 18 minute improvement for me over our June race and 27 minute improvement for Ron.  I know we both trained better but I think that it was the cooler weather and the pure joy of running.  We had a blast.  I was so happy for Ron!

The big question that everyone asks me about this race is about the hills.  To be honest, they really weren’t that bad.  We had 2 pretty good hills before and after the bridge and then near the end there was a lot of rolling hills.  The hardest for me was this one big downhill that we had.  It was huge!  I caught myself trying to hold back and I could really feel it in my quads.  I even saw one racer get a bad cramp and have to hop over to the side of the road.  When I saw that, I decided to just stop being scared and I decided to fly down that hill!  It was exhilarating.

Here’s a shot of the medal and the shirt.  I love the shirt but the medal was a little skimpy.  I saw the full medal and it was much prettier.

2015-08-08 13.55.47

We took the shuttle back to the full marathon finish line and enjoyed the post race celebrations.  Then before we went back to our hotel for showers, we rode a trolley!  Smile

20150726_123953

Ron was singing this song and I had it stuck in my head the rest of the day.

I really did love SF and this race was a dream come true!

Happy Racing!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The City by the Bay

Leave a Reply

