California Dreamin’

Here ya go.  After almost 6 weeks back home, I’m finally posting some shots from our trip to California.

Lighthouse

I promise you though.  I have not been lazy.

I’ve been RUNNING!

Take a look at these totals.  I cannot believe I’ve run this much.  170 miles in August.  I’d say I was all in for August all right.  I’m 45 miles so far for September and by the end of the weekend, I’ll be over 85.  That’s right.  I’ve got a 28 miler on Saturday and a 12 miler on Sunday on the ‘ole training log.  I’m not the least bit nervous.  I’m excited.  The first 23 on Saturday will be with all my best buds at Galloway and then I’m sure Ron will run some with me on Sunday.

Running totals

And then I’ll almost be there.  Only 2 weeks left until Hinson Lake, and the next 14 days are all about taper.

During these last 6 weeks, I’ve really focused.  I’ve tried to go to CrossFit as much as possible.  I’ve made it 2x week every week and sometimes 3x.  I’ve done my ITB exercises some. (I wish I could say I did more.)  Lastly, I have watched my diet.  I haven’t really stressed so much about what I’ve been eating but I have kept track of my weight. Two times this week someone noticed that I was loosing and I was so excited.  I looked it up and I’ve lost 8 pounds since vacation.  Yay!!

But enough about running and health.  I owe you these awesome shots.

Aww…The Ferry Building along the Embarcadero.  So pretty.

Clock tower

We toured in and around this building both on Saturday and on Sunday.   We walked up and down The Embarcadero and had so much fun.

SF skyline

Sailboat and clouds

Safeway was Ron’s grocery store growing up so I had to get a picture the first time I saw one.

Safeway

We had an awesome lunch at  The Plant!

Ron at Plant

Plant burger

Pier 39

Pier 39

play fighting

loner

just getting up

Holt Tower

Holt Tower

crowds

All the piers were cool and we both had a blast.  The sea lions were so interesting, I could have watched them forever.  The crowds were kinda big and that’s the only thing I didn’t care for so much.  The next morning when we ran by all these sites it was very quiet.  The smell of the sourdough bread baking was heaven on earth.  San Francisco rules!

On the Monday after the marathon, we headed out of San Francisco and traveled down the Pacific Coast Highway toward San Luis Obispo.

First up was the lighthouse at the top of this post, Pigeon Point.

Lighthouse1

Lighthouse3

cliff at lighthouse

sun on the rocks

Pigeon Point might have been my favorite spot of the whole day!  The have a hostel there and we met 2 bikers.  They were headed to Mexico from Canada.  I was impressed!

Our next stop was Pescadero State Beach.

PCH and Mel

Pescadero State Beach

Suculants

Tai Chi Ron

The entire way was lovely.  Sometimes I was a little scared.  I didn’t get carsick but I was very glad Ron was driving.

We stopped at Carmel and had some breakfast at the cutest cafe.

Cafe Strvaganza

cafe

Greek omlettes

Yummo!

Hearst Castle was breathtaking!

HC

Herst

pool 2

pool

This view from Hearst’s bedroom was my favorite!

view from the castle

Limekiln State Park and the Redwood were gorgeous!  I wished we could have stayed there for a week!

among the Redwoods

redwoods

Bixby!  Really really cool!

Bixby

Bixby Bridge 1932

Ron at Bixby

Elephant Seals!

Elephant Seals

in the ocean 3

in the ocean


Sunbathing

Sunbathing

As we got closer to the place that we were getting off the PCH, I spotted this spooky rock.  Can you see it in the distance in the ocean?

spooky rock

These shrimping boats were cool too.

Shrimp boats

Before we knew it our day was done and we had made it to San Lusis Obispo.  I loved this city!

SLO

SLO

We walked around a little that night and then the next morning we had breakfast at Bliss Cafe and then toured the mission.

Quote

DSC_0266

DSC_0267

Ron at the fountain

misson

misson 2

DSC_0285

DSC_0284

After we left SLO, we spent some great times with Ron’s family.

DSC_0346

DSC_0349

Joseph, Dad, and Ron

lunch at Aunt Linda's

the guys

So much LOVE all around.

One day we went to Sequoia National Park and had a really BIG day!

Ron and Dad at GS

Sequoia

Sequoias

Sequoias

top of GS

going up to Sequoia

And then on the next to the last day on our way to LA, we saw WINDMILLS!

windmills

Windmills 4

windmills

windmills

Now our plan for retirement is after we hike the entire AT, we’re going to be camp hosts in California!

Love you all!

Gotta run.  LOL

Bed is calling.

I’ll check back in one more time before my 50 miler and give you an update on my last 2 weeks of training.

5 thoughts on “California Dreamin’

  1. Melissa,
    Thank you so much for posting these pictures. You were able to see so much of my home state and favorite places – my sister lives in San Luis Obispo, I have several family members in San Francisco (including one who ran the SF half), and I grew up about an hour from Kings Canyon. I hope you enjoyed the visit!

  2. I had forgotten you were from there. We had a blast. I saw you were there recently too. Ron grew up in Hawaiin Gardens right outside LA and his family is in and around Lemoore and Hanford now. It was my first time there and I fell in love. You are lucky to have grown up there. SLO was so much fun. I forgot to post the picture of Bubblegum Alley. 🙂

Leave a Reply

