Taper

Last week and this week I have felt somewhat lost.  I feel like I have set a pretty good taper plan so I am happy with that. It’s just when you go from running 5 days a week and racking up some awesome miles and then you drop down to last week’s 3 run days, and this week’s 2, it feels very odd.  I ran 3 miles with my friends this morning and got to my desk by 7:26am.  Over a half an hour early!  That NEVER happens!

I did go to CrossFit 4 times last week and I also went last night and plan to go on Wednesday.  But even with that, it feels like I have sooooo much time on my hands.  That’s a good thing though because goodness knows I need to clean my house!

Slide1

So this is my last post before my epic 50 mile run attempt.  I’ll be honest; I have been getting a little scared.  When I decided to try this way back in December I thought it would be such a cute idea.  I was turning 50 this year so why not run a 50k and a 50 miler!?  I knew it was a little crazy but others were doing it so why not me?!

Now when I tell people, they really look at me and tell me how crazy it is.

It is crazy but for some reason, I’ve just got to do it.  It wouldn’t feel the same if I ran 50 miles next year when I’m 51.

Sadly, the weather forecast isn’t looking too good at all.

Weather

I’m not giving up though.  I’ve got the training in and I’ll be ok.  I plan to take about 3 different outfits and change every 13 miles or so.  I’m not even going to try and get a jacket or anything.  I know I’ll be too hot with a jacket and since I sweat so much, the rain won’t really be that different than some of the really hot long runs I went on this summer.

I’ve got to run 34 loops of the 1.5 mile course.  That will get me in over 50 miles.  My plan is to drink about 3-4 ounces of water or Gatorade every time I pass Ron.  I’ve also got it all planned out about when I’m going to take a GU and when I’ll grab some pretzels, dates, candy, or a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. (I got the little Uncrustables that you can find in your grocer’s freezer section.)

I know my Garmin won’t last the whole way so I plan to borrow Ron’s Garmin for the first 25 and then switch to mine for the last 25.  I’m going to try and set mine up so you guys can follow me on my Garmin Connect page.  I’ll let you know if I can get it to work.  If not, I’m going to get Ron to make some Facebook updates for me.

The race starts 8:00am so by 8:00pm Saturday night, I might be a drowned rat but I should be in the 50 mile club.

I promise, after my trail marathon that I have planned in October (Medoc) and my half marathon in November (OBX), I won’t sign up for another distance race until I can start doing better on speed.

I met a 63 year old on Facebook recently and she ran a sub 24:00 minute 5k.  She said her only secret was getting plenty of rest days and only running half marathons.  I like the sound of that!

Before I sign out, I want to thank all my running and CF friends.  Connie, you’ve run almost every mile that I have leading up to this 50 mile attempt.  We can do it!  Thanks so much.  Centennial ladies, Amelia, Gayle, Kim, Mindy, thank you too! And to all my fellow WannaBeasts at Galloway, ya’ll are amazing!  Lastly, to my CF buddies, you guys rock!  I just love it how we always encourage one another.  Christie I wouldn’t have made it through that round 7 last night without you!

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

