Best Book in an Eternity of 10,000 Fairy Tales

Many of you know that I drive a lot for work.  Well, my sister, Rosa, does too.  Actually she drives way more than me.  Because of this, we opened an Audible account to share.  I pick one month and she picks the next.  Her daughters and our other sister, Tammy, are huge real readers and they often give us suggestions.

Sometimes we happen upon a great novel on our own.  Sometimes we get some duds.

But oh my!  Was this month ever a winner!  We loved A Man Called Ove from last month so much Rosa picked this beauty from the same author for this month’s selection .

grandmothersource

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry is a story of a young girl and her grandmother.  It’s a story about life and death and the right to be different.  It’s a Christmas story.  It’s a fairy tale.  It’s a mystery.

I loved this book so much and immediately started listening to it again after I finished.  It has references to Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Spiderman and all the other superheros, and The X Men.  It has made me want to reread all the Harry Potter’s and watch all the Marvel comic movies and such.  The story is told with such passion and love.

If you are looking for a different type of book (the author is Swedish and has a great sense of humor) then look no more.  I highly recommend “Granny”.  It has been my favorite book of the entire year.  Well maybe second to Unbroken but still very very good.  Rosa liked Ove better so either one I promise you won’t be disappointed with.

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

