Chattanooga Half Marathon

Back on March 6th, Ron and I ran in the Inaugural Chattanooga Marathon.  Ron’s really good friend from his Coast Guard days lives near Chattanooga and we had planned a vacation out there to visit.  You know us.  We can’t go on vacation without signing up for a half marathon.

Here we are at the start with our traditional selfie.  It was a gorgeous day.  Just a little chilly at the start with all sunshine and no wind.  I shed that sweatshirt right as we started and left it for the volunteers to collect and give to Goodwill.

12809760_10205797381078814_8531218700045453074_n

I had been training since before Thanksgiving with Lifetime Fitness Run Club so I wanted to give it my all.  I kissed Ron goodbye and wished him a great race.

I didn’t carry any water or fuel and planned to just take what they gave out on the course.  My stomach has really settled down and I can handle just about what ever they give out.  I’d drink water at one stop and then the next I’d sip Gatorade.  I was ready for a GU a little before the race gave them out but no worries.  I accepted 2 Twizzlers from a nice spectator just past the UT-Chattanooga campus.

The course was gorgeous.  Chattanooga is a very pretty city.  It sits down in what they call the “Fishbowl” and there are mountains all around.  We ran down by the river during the first 5k and then headed up a few pretty good hills.  I loved every thing about the course.

Here’s my splits:

Chatt splits

I was feeling really good and kept most miles under 10:00 even with the hills!  I was doing so good, I started praying for a PR.  Now you know I just got a PR back in November in the flat, flat, flat, race at OBX.  Who was I to think I could get one here too?  I did train like I said with Lifetime and I felt like I was pretty prepared.  I just wasn’t very confident.  I’m not sure why.

That first 10:18 mile was when I stopped to take a GU.  I don’t understand why that last mile was also over 10:00.  I was praying very hard and really giving it my all and it was flat at that section.

It just wasn’t in the stars.  My official time was 2:07:18.  I missed a PR by a mere 30 seconds.  But you know, considering racing in Chattanooga vs OBX, I really must admit I did better.

I was very happy!

12821438_10205799121242317_2149277667402510502_n

Ron had a blast too and came in very close to where he predicted, 3:00:11.

The expo the day before was sweet.  It was small but this was the inaugural race for this city.  I’m sure it will get bigger as they grow.  The after party was really rockin’!  Notice I have Beet juice in my hands!  Score!  And they even had a vegan burger option for the after race food.

Chattanooga is a beautiful area.  After the expo we hiked to this gorgeous waterfall just about a half our outside the city.  (Lula Falls, Georgia)

12829442_10205794521327322_1565911306910258339_o

And then after the race, we hiked to this waterfall in the Cherokee National Forest.

12829077_10205802622049835_4692193317135545695_o (1)

I would highly recommend this race if you need to check off Tennessee.

Happy Running Friends!

Leave a Reply

